August 16, 2009

Six notches for Tremont at Devil’s Bowl

WEST HAVEN, VT –  Ken Tremont Jr. hasn’t officially won the track championship at Devil’s Bowl Speedway yet, but the fat lady is definitely warming up backstage.

Tremont held off Todd Stone Sunday night to register his sixth win of the season in the 30-lap 358-modified feature on Judith L. Richards Memorial Night at Devil’s Bowl.

The special night is held annually in honor of Judy Richards, the matriarch of the Champlain Valley Racing Association who passed away after a courageous bout with cancer. In addition to a number of giveaways (19 bicycles were taken home by lucky kids!), the night also includes the Red Knights Ride, a benefit for the RRMC Marrow Donor Program.

Frank Hoard Sr., still looking for his first win of the season, set the pace for the first11 laps of the modified feature, but Tremont had the Rifenburgh Construction small block humming and only needed seven laps to get from his eighth starting position to second.

Tremont used a restart on lap 11 to get the lead, and the rest of the field could do nothing more than watch his rear bumper for the rest of the feature. Stone, who started just behind Tremont, moved into second on lap 14, but had to be content with the No. 2 spot, and knows his reign as track champion is just about over.

Vince Quenneville Jr. finished third, with Tim Laduc fourth and Ron Proctor fifth.

The budget sportsman ran 50 laps, but Seth Howe didn’t really need the extra distance. After taking the lead midway through the feature, he pulled away from Paul Dunham Jr. to come away with his first win of the season.

The first 20 laps of the feature featured a number of cautions, and almost as many lead changes. Marc Hughes led the first three laps, but Chuck Dickinson, who started on the pole, moved out in front on lap four and held the top spot until lap 16, when D.J. Brundige went out on the point.

After a number of caution laps, Howe, who had started 14th, used a restart on lap 25 to get the lead, and then drove a solid race to get the victory. One of the yellow-flag victims was Brundige, who dropped out on lap 28

Dunham, who started fifth, crossed the finish line second, with Dickinson third. But Dickinson failed to pass inspection following the race, and was disqualified.

That moved Jack Swinton to third, with Frank Hoard III fourth and Derrick McGrew, coming off a Friday night win at Albany-Saratoga Speedway, fifth.

Fred Little outran Carl Vladyka to come away with his third win of the campaign in the 20-lap pro-street stock feature, and Mike Clark rocketed past Joe Ladd with five laps to go and drove to his third win of the year in the 20-lap limited feature.

Nathan Woodworth also made his way to victory lane on Sunday night, winning the mini/duke stock feature.

Devil’s Bowl will be back in action on Sunday, Aug. 23, with all divisions competing on Salute to Veterans Night, Racing will begin at 6:45 p.m.

MODIFIEDS: KEN TREMONT JR., Todd Stone, Vince Quenneville Jr., Tim Laduc, Ron Proctor, Brian Whittemore, Scott Duell, Jimmy Ryan, Gardner Stone, Kris Vernold, Ray Hoard, Don Ackner, Darren Keyser, Don Mattison, Frank Hoard Sr., Cullen Howe, Corey Gilligan.

BUDGET SPORTSMAN (50 laps): SETH HOWE, Paul Dunham Jr., Jack Swinton, Frank Hoard III, Derrick McGrew, Tim Hartman Jr., C.V. Elms, Marc Hughes, Anthony Marro, Dennis Pennock, Jon Bates, Joshua Joseph, Shawn Cassidy, Anthony Warren, Willy Knight, Shannon Donnelly, D.J. Brundige, Jared McMahon, Kevin Elliot, Ron Wanamaker, Ron Casey, Hunter Bates, Frank Hoard Jr. DQ: Chuck Dickinson.

PRO-STREET STOCKS: FRED LITTLE, Carl Vladyka, Cale Kneer, Justin Perry, Patrick McLaughlin, Adam Forbes, Mike Bussino.

LIMITEDS: MIKE CLARK, Joe Ladd, Randy Alger, Bill Duprey, Bill Decker, Garret Given, Bill Vradenburgh, Paul Braymer, Dave Emigh, Chris Murray, Frank Monroe, Lou Gancarz, Russ Farr.

MINI/DUKE STOCKS: NATHAN WOODWORTH, Kayla Bryant, Justin Lilly, Brent Warren, Jon Hayes, Josh Bussino (Duke).