August 17, 2003

Fourth win for Tremont

WEST HAVEN, VT. -  Ken Tremont Jr.’s winning streak at Devil’s Bowl Speedway is still alive, as is his ever-increasing shot at nailing down the track championship.

Tremont chalked up his third straight win, and fourth overall victory of the season, in Sunday night’s 30-lap 358 modified feature at the Bowl, and cut another chunk off Vince Quenneville Jr.’s lead in the point race. Heading into August, Quenneville had what looked to be a comfortable 31-point lead in the point race. But Tremont has hacked that lead nearly in half while he enjoys his hottest streak of the season. The win at the Bowl completed a weekend sweep for Tremont, as he also won Friday night’s feature at Albany-Saratoga Speedway, as well as Saturday night’s big block event at Lebanon Valley Speedway.

Lance Harting, who still works on Tremont’s crew when he isn’t racing, started on the pole in Sunday night’s feature, which got off to a slow start because of a couple of quick yellows. First, Mike Perrotte spun out on lap two, and the next time around, Richard Moses looped his car, and Perrotte and Neal Erickson also went around to avoid Moses’ machine.

By lap five, Quenneville and Gene Munger were locked in a good battle for third, and Tremont, who started 11th, had already moved into the top five. The yellow continued to flash, as Don Scarborough suffered a flat right rear tire, and Perrotte went around again in turn two on lap 10. By that time, Tremont had worked his way up to second, behind Harting.

Tremont took the lead for good on lap 16 and survived a number of restarts, as a slippery spot in turn two continued to claim its share of victims. The final incident in the tricky spot involved Tremont’s 16-year-old son, Kale, who bounced off the wall with two laps left.

Ken Tremont finished with a 1.142-second margin of victory over Harting, who had his best career finish at the Bowl. Since July 6, Tremont has four wins and two second-place finishes in six races at the Bowl.

Frank Hoard Sr. bounced back from taking a horrific shot in a lap-one accident two weeks ago to finish third. Munger crossed the finish line fourth while Quenneville was fifth.

Rounding out the top 10 were Don Mattison, Don Ronca, Ron Proctor, Perrotte and Jimmy Ryan. Hoard, Munger and Quenneville won the modified heats, while Scarborough won the B main. Defending track champion Dave Camara was a no-show Sunday night. His team had been fined and put on probation for an incident in the pits on Aug. 10.

Lori Cary also completed a sweep of the weekend’s CVRA features, picking up her second win of the season at the Bowl in the 20-lap pro-street stock feature. Mike Haines, who was looking for his second straight win at the Bowl, put some pressure on Cary, but the Queen of the CVRA turned her fastest time of the feature on the final lap to finish nearly a full second ahead of Haines. Carl Vladyka finished third, with Carl Kneer fourth and Robert Langevin fifth.

Donnie Williams finally put all his bad luck behind him, and drove to his first win of the season in the hobby stock main. Russ Farr and Tim Shaw, who have dominated the division in recent weeks, were right there at the end, but Williams was up to the challenge and got the victory, leaving Farr and Shaw to battle for second. Farr won that skirmish, with Billy Lussier finishing fourth and Mike Tholin fifth.

Luke MacIsaac, coming off a second-place finish Friday night at Albany-Saratoga Speedway, closed the weekend with a win, taking the checkered flag in the cruiser division. He finished with a whopping 6.699 second margin of victory over Ron Zagata, who had his two-race winning streak broken.
Devil’s Bowl Speedway will return to action on Sunday night, with all divisions in action. Only two weeks of point racing remain on the schedule, including the 100-lap modified feature on Sunday. Aug. 31.

MODIFIEDS: KEN TREMONT JR., Lance Harting, Frank Hoard Sr., Gene Munger, Vince Quenneville Jr., Don Mattison, Don Ronca, Ron Proctor, Mike Perrotte, Jimmy Ryan, Don Scarborough, Tim Laduc, C.V. Elms, Neal Erickson, Stan Lemiesz, Brian Whittemore, Chris Vernold, Richard Moses, Kale Tremont, Craig Hanson, Mike Bushee.

PRO-STREET STOCKS: LORI CARY, Mike Haines, Carl Vladyka, Cale Kneer, Robert Langevin, Randy Alger, Jeff Washburn, Denny Martin, Ed Thompson, Jim Groncki, Jay Fitzgerald, Henry Tanner III, Jonah Rule.

HOBBY STOCKS: DONNIE WILLIAMS, Russ Farr, Tim Shaw, Billy Lussier, Mike Tholin, Robert Ross, Shannon Donnelly, Pat Cram, Scott Fowler, Jason Walker, Jessie Ruhle, William Vradenburg, Al Gregware, Tim Whitney, Bob Smith, Pat Putnam, Adam Forbes.

CRUISERS: LUKE MACISAAC, Ron Zagata, Jamie McCarthy, Chris Carrie, Jason Bishop, Scott Brace, John Sullivan, Vince Greene, Ron Stewart, David Van Chance, Dwight Cram, Mike Clark, Brittany Ladd, Robert Cole, Mike Pope.