August 26, 2007

Quenneville ends Devil’s Bowl slump

WEST HAVEN, VT -  Vince Quenneville Jr. has finally gotten the 800-pound gorilla off his back.

Mired in the worst winless streak of his career, Quenneville finally had the breaks go his way Sunday night as he won the 30-lap 358-modified feature at Devil’s Bowl Speedway.

The victory ended a winless streak that had lasted more than five years for the former Devil’s Bowl track champion. The last time Quenneville sat in victory lane was June 23, 2002. When he won the track title in 2003, he did it with consistent finishes, as he also went through that season without a victory.

But now, everyone will stop asking the veteran Vermont driver how long it’s been since he’s won a race. Although Quenneville has his share of bad luck in the last five years, he caught a good break on Sunday night.

Ray Hoard came off the pole and set a quick early pace, with Quenneville, who had started third, right behind. After a caution came out on lap 18, Quenneville used the restart to move into the lead.

Todd Stone, who started 11th, soon became a factor, as he moved around Hoard for the No. 2 position on lap 22, and then rocketed past Quenneville into the lead on lap 25.

But the stars must have been aligned in Quenneville’s favor, as Stone spun out on lap 27, putting Quenneville back on the point, and he then held off defending track champion Ken Tremont Jr. to come away with his 10th career victory at the Bowl. Quenneville also picked up a $500 bonus for beating Tremont.

Tremont, bidding for his third straight track championship, padded his point lead with his second-place finish. Don Scarborough crossed the stripe third, followed by Tim Laduc and Hoard.

Dan Eastman picked up his second win of the season in the 20-lap pro-street stock feature. Eastman, who started 13th, methodically worked his way to the front and took the lead away from Cale Kneer with four laps to go. Kneer grabbed the runner-up spot, with Lori Cary third, Fred Little fourth and Josh Joseph fifth.

Kevin Elliot came one step closer to the track title in the limited division as he recorded his third win of the season. Elliot, who hadn’t been to victory lane since July 15, held off Bill Duprey to get the win.

Tim Anagnos and Travis Tromans picked up victories in the mini-stock division. Anagnos, who won the six-cylinder division, extended his winning streak to four races as he notched his eighth victory of the season.

Naomi Gould came away with her second win in a row in the duke stock division.

One of the biggest nights of racing will be held on Sunday, Sept. 2, when Garry Bowen Excavating presents the 100 at Devil’s Bowl. All divisions will be running for double points, highlighted by the 100-lapper for 358 modifieds. Budget sportsmen will also be in action, and the night will conclude with an enduro. Racing will begin earlier than usual at 6 p.m.

In the event of bad weather, the entire racing card will be held on Monday, Sept. 3.

MODIFIEDS: VINCE QUENNEVILLE JR., Ken Tremont Jr., Don Scarborough, Tim Laduc, Ray Hoard, Gene Munger, Ron Proctor, Don Ackner, Frank Hoard Sr., Richard Davis III, Todd Stone, Matt Depew, Brian Whittemore, Todd Morey, Stan Lemiesz, Rob Langevin, Don Mattison, Jimmy Ryan, Kris Vernold.

PRO-STREET STOCKS: DAN EASTMAN, Cale Kneer, Lori Cary, Fred Little, Josh Joseph, Ed Thompson, Carl Vladyka, Jeff Martin, Bill Hull, Jesse Edwards Jr., Pat McLaughlin, Justin Perry, Chuck Towslee, Walt Brownell, Mike Bussino, Jeremie Younger, Chris Fitzgerald.

LIMITEDS: KEVIN ELLIOT, Bill Duprey, Rob Ketchum, Jeremy Jones, Bill Decker, Joe Ladd Jr., Bill Vradenburg, Tim Brunelle, No. 75, D.J. Brundige, C.J. Vitagliano, Rich Holmes, Nick Lussier, Andy Husk, Shannon Donnelly, Justin Parker, Adam Forbes.

MINI/DUKE STOCKS: TIM ANAGNOS, Travis Tromans, Ron Zagata, Richard Edwards, Shane Marks, Cliff White, Jason Rheome, Chris Hutchinson, Chris Matison, Howard McEachron, Naomi Gould, Chris Atwood, Russ Farr, No. 25, Russ Farr Jr., Bill Parker, Jeremy Hayes, Andy Smith.