August 29, 2010

LaDuc, Ryan take double features at Devil’s Bowl

WEST HAVEN, VT –  Tim Laduc made his way to victory lane for the first time this season, and Jim Ryan picked up win No. 2 in the twin modified features Sunday night at Devil’s Bowl Speedway sponsored by Heritage Family Credit Union.

After two weeks of inactivity, dating back to Aug. 15, when the features were rained out on the original Heritage Family Credit Union night, the action was fast and furious, and sometimes outrageous, on a long night of racing at the Bowl.

Laduc added his name to the win list in the first modified feature. After starting third, Laduc had the lead by lap three, but had to survive some heavy pressure from Mike Bruno to win the 30-lap feature. Laduc crossed the finish line 1.2 seconds ahead of Bruno, with Ken Tremont Jr coming across the line third.

Ryan started on the pole and went flag to flag in the second feature, which still was filled with drama. First, the front end of Don Scarborough’s car let go, sending him to the pits early. On lap 12, something broke in the front end of Tremont’s car and he drove straight off the track in turn one, past the pit entrance at high speed. He was OK, but the yellow came out again.

Under caution, a few drivers complained of vision problems, blaming the sometimes-smoking car of Leon Gonyo. But officials checked the car and found no fluids leaking, and restarted the race.

Vince Quenneville brought out another yellow with eight to go, when he suffered a flat tire, and on the restart, Ryan protected the low side while Gonyo and Bruno were trading paint behind him.

With two to go, Bruno had a tire go down, bringing out the last caution, and Ryan pulled away from Gonyo, who was still smoking, to get the victory. Quenneville got back up for third thanks to his new tire.

Jack Swinton drove to his first win of the season in the held-over sportsman feature. Swinton, who has a pair of second-place finishes under his belt, started on the outside pole and led flag-to-flag, outrunning Don Miller to get the victory.

The second feature was plagued by a number of cautions on the initial lap. Once the race finally got clean and green, Miller took control and beat Paul Dunham Jr. and Swinton to the finish line. The victory was Miller’s eighth of the season.

Jon Miller got the win in the 50-lap Renegade Roundup, which had originally been scheduled for Aug. 15. Dave Emigh, who dropped out of the 50-lapper when he began leaking fluid late in the race, came back to win the regular feature.

Only six cars took the green flag in the first Pro-Stock/Super Street Challenge, and the field was further reduced when Bob Schmidt and Mike Paquin came together on the first lap, resulting in a broken axle on Paquin’s car. Jerey Houghtaling went on to record his first win of the year.

Chris Wilk dominated the second Pro-Stock/Super Street Challenge race, recording his second win of the campaign. Kim Duell, who had engine problems in the first feature, came back to finish second in the nightcap, with Chad White third.

Chad Brown was the only double winner on the night, taking the checkered flag in both Bomber Warrior features, while Scott Atwood was the Duke stock winner.

Devil’s Bowl will be holding its final points race of the season on Sunday, Sept. 5. The modifieds will be running 50 laps, and double points will be on the line in all divisions.

MODIFIEDS (HELD OVER FROM AUG. 15): TIM LADUC, Mike Bruno, Ken Tremont Jr., Vince Quenneville Jr., Marc Johnson, Matt Depew, Don Scarborough, Jim Ryan, Ray Martindale, Leon Gonyo, Don Mattison, Adam Bartemy.

MODIFIEDS (REGULAR FEATURE): JIM RYAN, Leon Gonyo, Vince Quenneville Jr., Tim Laduc, Ray Martindale, Mike Bruno, Matt Depew, Ken Tremont Jr., Don Mattison, Adam Bartemy, Marc Johnson, Don Scarborough.

SPORTSMAN (HELD OVER FROM AUG. 15): JACK SWINTON, Don Miller, Hunter Bates, Paul Dunham Jr., Chris Johnson, Paul Braymer, Andy Durie, Kevin Wright, Fred Proctor, Josh Joseph, Carl Vladyka, Ron Wanamaker, Joey Trudeau, Matt Atwood.

SPORTSMAN (REGULAR FEATURE): DON MILLER, Paul Dunham Jr., Jack Swinton, Hunter Bates, Kevin Wright, Andy Durie, Carl Vladyka, Joey Trudeau, Chris Johnson, Matt Atwood, Paul Braymer, Fred Proctor, Ron Wanamaker, Josh Joseph.

PRO-STOCK.SUPER STREET CHALLENGE (HELD OVER FROM AUG. 15) JEREMY HOUGHTALING, Fred Little, Bobby Schmidt, Kim Duell, Kayla Bryant, Mike Paquin.

PRO-STOCK/SUPER STREET CHALLENGE (REGULAR FEATURE): CHRIS WILK, Kim Duell, Chad White, Fred Little, Jeremy Houghtaling, Bobby Schmidt, Jim Monroe Jr., Kayla Bryan.

RENEGADES (HELD OVER FROM AUG. 15, 50 LAPS): JON MILLER, Brandon Emigh, Bill Dupree, Dan Older, Dave Rabtoy, Randy Alger, Justin Demers, Mike Ostrander, Andy Smith, Dave Emigh, Jeremy Jones, Chuck Knowlton, Frank Monroe, Jon Hayes, Chris Murray, Rowdy Birch.

RENEGADES (REGULAR FEATURE): DAVE EMIGH, Randy Alger, Jon Miller, Frank Monroe, Dan Older, Chuck Knowlton, Andy Smith, Dave Rabtoy, Jeremy Jones, Bill Dupree, Rowdy Birch, Justin Demers, Brandon Emigh, Chris Murray, Jon Hayes.

BOMBER WARRIORS (HELD OVER FROM AUG. 15): CHAD BROWN, Kayla Bryant, Eddie Bruno, Paul Woodworth, Matt Monahan, Jason Barrett, Tyler Lescord, Dave Tomazek, Nate Woodworth, Justin Lilly. No. 8X

BOMBER WARRIORS (REGULAR FEATURE): CHAD BROWN, Kayla Bryant, Dave Tomezek, Eddie Bruno, Tyler Lescord, Paul Woodworth, Jason Barrett, Matt Monahan, Nate Woodworth