August 5, 2007

Ken Tremont Jr. continues win streak into August

WEST HAVEN, VT -  A Jim Croce song from the 1970s says that you shouldn’t tug on Superman’s cape.

Well, it looks like it’s not a good idea to put a bounty out on Ken Tremont Jr., either.

Running with a $500 bounty hanging over his head for the first time this year, Tremont turned in one of his most dominant performances of the season Sunday night, rockin’ and rollin’ to his fifth straight win in the 30-lap 358 modified feature at Devil’s Bowl Speedway.

Not only did Tremont notch his sixth overall victory at the Bowl, but he was nearly a full straightaway ahead at the finish, as Tim Laduc hit the finish line over four seconds behind Tremont. Laduc has now finished fourth four times this year – all behind Tremont’s 115.

Undaunted by Tremont’s performance, Champlain Valley Racing Association officials have upped the ante, pushing the bonus for anyone who can beat Tremont to $1,000. The streak is bound to end sometime, and when it does, one of the other 358 modified drivers will be very glad that Tremont got a good run going during the summer months.

Don Ackner hit the finish line third, his best run of the season. Jimmy Ryan was fourth, and Gene Munger came across the stripe fifth.

The budget sportsman were back for the second leg of the Twin State Series, and Adam Pierson came away with his first win of the season at the Bowl. Fred Proctor, who has been one of the top cars in the new class this year, kept the pressure on Pierson, but came up short. Frank Hoard Jr. ran third, Gary Siemons finished fourth and Frank Hoard III was fifth.

There was also a new face in victory lane after the 20-lap pro-street stock feature, as Will Hull held off Lori Cary to record the first win of his career.

Cary, who leads the division with five wins, finished just 0.157 seconds back, with Richard Glode another car length back in third. Fred Little and defending track champion Cale Kneer completed the top five.

Bill Duprey ran his winning streak to three races in the 20-lap limited feature. With the exception of Tremont, close finishes were the order of the night, and the limiteds were no exception, as Duprey held off D.J. Brundige to come away with his fourth win of the year. All the big guns finished up front, as Joey Trudeau was third. Duprey, Brundige and Trudeau have combined to win eight of the 11 features this season

Tim Anagnos came away with his fifth win of the season in the six-cylinder mini-stock feature, while Shane Marks was victorious in the four-cylinder division.

Devil’s Bowl will return to action on Sunday. Aug, 12, with its annual Mountain Man Weekend, with an enduro being added to the regular racing card. The first green flag will fall at 7 p.m.

MODIFIEDS: KEN TREMONT JR., Tim Laduc, Don Ackner, Jimmy Ryan, Gene Munger, Ray Hoard, Don Scarborough, Dave Camara, Vince Quenneville Jr., Todd Stone, Kris Vernold, Ron Proctor, Don Mattison, Gardner Stone, Rob Langevin, Matt Depew, Frank Hoard Sr., Stan Lemiesz, Robert Allen, Rich Stromberg, Corey Gilligan.

BUDGET SPORTSMAN: ADAM PIERSON, Fred Proctor, Frank Hoard Jr., Gary Siemons, Frank Hoard !!!, Mike Visconti, Chuck Allen, Paul Dunham Sr., Angela Hoard, Jared McMahon, Ralph Denison, Mike Burto, Billy Lussier, Kris Bradbury, Tim Reed, Ken Towne, Alex Bell, Kale Groff, Steve Williams.

PRO-STREET STOCKS: WILL HULL, Lori Cary, Richard Glode, Fred Little, Cale Kneer, Jeff Washburn, Ed Thompson, Chuck Towslee, Dan Eastman, Walt Brownell, Patrick McLaughlin, Justin Perry, Joe Malzac, Mike Bussino, Richard Siliski, Carl Vladyka, Josh Joseph, Jeremie Younger.

LIMITEDS: BILL DUPREY, D.J. Brundige, Joey Trudeau, Francis Clark Jr., Rich Holmes, Kevin Elliot, Bill Vradenburg, Bill Decker, Joe Ladd Jr., Rob Ketchum, Roger Parker, Merv Blackwell, Nick Lussier, Jeremy Jones, Adam Forbes, Shannon Donnelly.

MINI/DUKE STOCKS: TIM ANAGNOS (6), Ron Zagata (6), Shane Marks (4), Cliff White, Jason Rheome (4), Chris Mattison (6), Car No. 91, Phil DeFiglio (6), Richard Edwards (6), Travis Tromans (4), Chris Murray, Russ Farr (Duke), Justin Parker (Duke), Jeremy Hayes (Duke), Andy Smith (Duke), Russ Farr Jr. (Duke).