Durgan Takes First Devil’s Bowl Modified Win

Late Model checkers to Bryant

WEST HAVEN, VT – Jason Durgan became a first-time winner at Devil’s Bowl Speedway on Friday, June 6, taking the 30-lap Bond Auto Parts Modified event on “Facebook Friday” for the NASCAR Whelen All-American Series. Durgan, of Morrisonville, NY, headlined a winner’s list that included Robert Bryant, Jr., Robert Gordon, Jake Noble, Scott MacMichael, and Shawn Fountain.

Durgan, who was eliminated in a crash last week, benefitted from a pole position starting spot in the 30-lap main event and led every step of the way. His No. 17 Clear Shot Satellite/Taylor Rental Teo jetted out to an early advantage, but that was wiped away with nine laps remaining as front-runners Todd Stone, Ron Proctor, and Jessey Mueller tangled. Durgan was forced to fend off Vince Quenneville, Jr., at the restart, then drove to the landmark win.

Quenneville had his hands full with Leon Gonyo at the end of the race, and they finished in that order behind the winner. Joey Roberts continued his strong start with a fourth-place finish, and Cody Sargen recovered from an early altercation for his first top-five finish in two years. Mueller, Jamie LaFountain, Stone, Johnny Scarborough, and Proctor completed the top ten.

Robert Bryant, Jr., made a move early to take the lead in the 25-lap feature for the Late Model division and never looked back. The Brooklyn, CT driver sped to the victory, his first since his rookie season in 2012. Veteran drivers Jamie Fisher and Bucko Branham dueled for the runner-up spot for nearly the entire distance, with Fisher eventually earning the spot. Josh Masterson and Emily Packard were next in line.

Robert Gordon of Milton, VT made it two-for-two in the 15-lap Renegade feature. Gordon started last on the field and caught young Stephen Donahue late in the race for the lead. Richard Lowrey, III, who missed last week’s event to play in a Champlain Valley Union High School lacrosse game, also slipped by Donahue for the runner-up finish. Gordon’s win gives him first-place in the Renegade class, with 12 career victories.

Jake Noble and Chuck Bradford provided a hair-raising finish in the Central Vermont Motorcycles Mini Stock division’s 15-lap event. Bradford dived underneath Noble entering the final corner, making significant contact and sending Noble’s car into a slide. Bradford immediately slowed and allowed Noble to regain control, then the two drag-raced to the checkered flag. Benson, VT driver Noble, the defending champion, won by a matter of feet. Mike Whalen, Jr., finished a tight third, followed by Lacey Hanson and Chris LaVair.

The open-wheel SK Light division returned for its second event and saw Scott MacMichael of Newbury, NH post his first victory. Rookie T.J. Bleau was second in his Devil’s Bowl debut, with Norm Forest third.

Shawn “Mr. Bojangles” Fountain of Plattsburgh, NY won the 50-lap season opener for the Enduro Series. His father, “Wild Bill” Fountain was the runner-up, with track champion Eric “Mongo” Messier third.

Devil’s Bowl Speedway returns to action on Father’s Day, Sunday, June 15 at 1:30 p.m. with the rescheduled 101.5 The Fox Spring Green for the American-Canadian Tour Late Models. The NASCAR Whelen All-American Series Modified, Renegade, and Mini Stock divisions will be on hand, along with the SK Lights. General admission is $20 for adults, $18 for seniors (age 62+), and free for children age 12 and under.

Devil’s Bowl Speedway is located on Route 22A in West Haven, VT four miles north of Exit 2 on U.S. Route 4. For more information, call (802) 265-3112 or visit www.devilsbowlspeedwayvt.com. Devil’s Bowl Speedway is on Facebook at facebook.com/DevilsBowlSpeedway and on Twitter and Instagram at @DevilsBowlSpeed; follow the action using the #DevilsBowl hashtag.

NASCAR Whelen All-American Series
Devil’s Bowl Speedway, West Haven, VT
Friday, June 6, 2014

(# – denotes rookie)

Bond Auto Parts Modified Feature (30 laps)
1. (1) Jason Durgan, Morrisonville, NY
2. (2) Vince Quenneville, Jr., Brandon, VT
3. (3) Leon Gonyo, Chazy, NY
4. (9) Joey Roberts, Fletcher, VT
5. (10) Cody Sargen, Greenfield Center, NY
6. (11) Jessey Mueller, Olmstedville, NY
7. (4) Jamie LaFountain, Plattsburgh, NY
8. (7) Todd Stone, Middlebury, VT
9. (8) Johnny Scarborough, Bomoseen, VT
10. (5) Ron Proctor, Charlton, NY
11. (12) # Billy Lussier, Fair Haven, VT
12. (13) Jason Reome, Clifton Park, NY
13. (6) Dave Snow, Brandon, VT
Heat Winners: Todd Stone, Joey Roberts

Late Model Feature (25 laps)
1. (3) Robert Bryant, Jr., Brooklyn, CT
2. (4) Jamie Fisher, Shelburne, VT
3. (1) Bucko Branham, Plattsburgh, NY
4. (10) Josh Masterson, Bristol, VT
5. (6) Emily Packard, East Montpelier, VT
6. (5) Chris Bergeron, Claremont, NH
7. (2) Norm Andrews, Northfield, VT
8. (7) Jamie Aube, North Ferrisburgh, VT
9. (8) Seth Bridge, Mendon, VT
10. (9) Johnny Chesnut, Grantham, NH
11. (11) Carol Parker, Fair Haven, VT
12. (12) # Dan St. Hilare, Shelburne, VT
Heat Winners: Josh Masterson, Emily Packard

Renegade Feature (15 laps)
1. Robert Gordon, Milton, VT
2. Richard Lowrey, III, Charlotte, VT
3. Stephen Donahue, Graniteville, VT
4. Randy Howard, Georgia, VT
5. Ray Benoit, Milton, VT
6. # Amber Turner, Milton, VT
7. Tony Putzier, Jericho, VT
8. # Scott FitzGerald, West Rutland, VT
Heat Winner: Robert Gordon

Central Vermont Motorcycles Mini Stock Feature (15 laps)
1. (5) Jake Noble, Benson, VT
2. (10) Chuck Bradford, Addison, VT
3. (1) Mike Whalen, Jr., Plattsburgh, NY
4. (3) Lacey Hanson, Orwell, VT
5. (9) Chris LaVair, Gabriels, NY
6. (4) Lance Masterson, Lincoln, VT
7. (7) Bobby LaVair, Saranac Lake, NY
8. (8) Kyle Sorensen, Ballston Spa, NY
9. (2) Harold LaVair, Jr., Gabriels, NY
10. (11) Dan Collins, Rensselaer, NY
11. (12) # Andrew FitzGerald, West Rutland, VT
12. (6) John McCarron, Rensselaer, NY
Heat Winners: Chuck Bradford, Jake Noble

SK Light Feature (15 laps)
1. (4) Scott MacMichael, Newbury, NH
2. (1) # T.J. Bleau, Troy, NH
3. (3) Norm Forest, Lebanon, NH
4. (2) Bruce Jaycox, Hartland, VT

Enduro Series Feature (50 laps)
1. Shawn Fountain, Plattsburgh, NY
2. Bill Fountain, Altona, NY
3. Eric Messier, Hinesburg, VT
(Full-field results under review)

PHOTO: Jason Durgan of Morrisonville, NY was a first-time winner in the Bond Auto Parts Modified division at Devil’s Bowl Speedway. (MemorEvents photo)

Comments are closed.