Gonyo, Quenneville Split Northern Modified Challenge Wins at Airborne Park

Veterans win in series debut at historic New York track

SOUTH PLATTSBUGH, NY – The Northern Modified Challenge Series made an entertaining first appearance at Airborne Park Speedway on Saturday, July 26, running a pair of 30-lap feature races. Veteran drivers Leon Gonyo and Vince Quenneville, Jr., scored the victories, each posting his first victory on the Northern Modified Challenge Series.

Gonyo, of Chazy, NY, started on the pole position by virtue of a random draw in the opening feature. He led every lap, but found himself under nearly constant pressure from Jessey Mueller during the race. Mueller, who won the opening NMCS event of the season at Thunder Road in Barre, VT, made multiple attempts for the lead on the outside lane, settled for the runner-up position. Travis Bruno took third place, followed by Jason Durgan.

Mark Lamberton cut a tire on lap 7 and spun to the infield, then came from the back of the field after pitting during the resulting caution period to finish fifth. Nick Heywood was sixth, followed by Vince Quenneville, Jr., Jayson Criss, Andy Heywood, and Mike Wells.

Brandon, VT racer Quenneville – who won the inaugural NMCS championship last year without a race victory – finally broke into the winner’s circle in the second feature. Underdog racers Speedy Bresette and Chris Frennier led the field for much of the race while Quenneville sliced through traffic. Quenneville used a three-wide move to take the lead from Bresette with four laps remaining, then cruised to the win. Bresette crossed the finish line in second place, but lost the finish in post-race inspection when his car measured lower the than minimum allowable ride height.

Rookie driver Frennier inherited the runner-up spot, followed by Andy Heywood, Lamberton, and Nick Heywood. Gonyo finished sixth ahead of Bruno, Mueller, Tyson Drown, and Jamie LaFountain.

The Northern Modified Challenge Series, sanctioned by Devil’s Bowl Speedway management, returns to its home track on Friday, August 1 with the third annual C.J. Richards Memorial 67 presented by Carrara Masonry & Concrete. For more information, visit www.DevilsBowlSpeedwayVT.com, call (802) 265-3112, or follow @NorthernModCS on Twitter.

UNOFFICIAL RESULTS – Northern Modified Challenge Series
Airborne Park Speedway, Plattsburgh, NY
Saturday, July 26, 2014

Feature #1 (30 laps)
1. (1) Leon Gonyo, Chazy, NY
2. (4) Jessey Mueller, Olmstedville, NY
3. (11) Travis Bruno, Morrisonville, NY
4. (8) Jason Durgan, Morrisonville, NY
5. (12) Mark Lamberton, Mooers Forks, NY
6. (10) Nick Heywood, Plattsburgh, NY
7. (2) Vince Quenneville, Jr., Brandon, VT
8. (13) Jayson Criss, Plattsburgh, NY
9. (3) Andy Heywood, Morrisonville, NY
10. (14) Mike Wells, West Chazy, NY
11. (7) Johnny Scarborough, Bomoseen, VT
12. (6) Tyson Drown, Mooers Forks, NY
13. (5) Codie Aubin, Plattsburgh, NY
14. (18) Chris Frennier, West Chazy, NY
15. (16) Speedy Bresette, Peru, NY
16. (20) Andrew Bordeau, Dannemora, NY
17. (15) Rick Doner, West Chazy, NY
18. (17) Rico Hernandez, Plattsburgh, NY
19. (9) Jamie LaFountain, Keeseville, NY
20. (19) Ron Proctor, Charlton, NY
21. (21) Keith Pelkey, Clintonville, NY
Lap Leaders: Leon Gonyo, 1-30.
Did Not Start: Jason Bruno, Morrisonville, NY; Jeff Clodgo, Kesseville, NY; Brian McGinley, Plattsburgh, NY; Tom Remington, Saratoga Springs, NY
Heat Winners: Jason Durgan, Mark Lamberton, Nick Heywood

Feature #2 (30 laps)
1. (9) Vince Quenneville, Jr., Brandon, VT
2. (2) Chris Frennier, West Chazy, NY
3. (7) Andy Heywood, Morrisonville, NY
4. (11) Mark Lamberton, Mooers Forks, NY
5. (10) Nick Heywood, Plattsburgh, NY
6. (15) Leon Gonyo, Chazy, NY
7. (13) Travis Bruno, Morrisonville, NY
8. (14) Jessey Mueller, Olmstedville, NY
9. (4) Tyson Drown, Mooers Forks, NY
10. (19) Jamie LaFountain, Keeseville, NY
11. (6) Mike Wells, West Chazy, NY
12. (8) Jayson Criss, Plattsburgh, NY
13. (5) Johnny Scarborough, Bomoseen, VT
14. (17) Rick Doner, West Chazy, NY
15. (18) Rico Hernandez, Plattsburgh, NY
16. (21) Keith Pelkey, Clintonville, NY
17. (12) Jason Durgan, Morrisonville, NY
18. (16) Andrew Bordeau, Dannemora, NY
19. (3) Codie Aubin, Plattsburgh, NY
20. (22) Jason Bruno, Morrisonville, NY
21. (20) Ron Proctor, Charlton, NY
Disqualified: (1) Speedy Bresette, Peru, NY (ride height)
Lap Leaders: Speedy Bresette, 1-25; Vince Quenneville, Jr., 26-30.
Did Not Start: Jeff Clodgo, Kesseville, NY; Brian McGinley, Plattsburgh, NY; Tom Remington, Saratoga Springs, NY

Comments are closed.