July 11, 2010

Tremont gets past Quenneville for third win at Devil’s Bowl

WEST HAVEN, VT –  A blown tire and a little wiggle helped Ken Tremont Jr. pick up his third win of the season Sunday night in the 30-lap modified feature at Devil’s Bowl Speedway.

Tremont had to put on a late charge, after going to the pits early in the feature. That incident occurred on lap eight, when Tim Laduc, Tremont and Marc Johnson tried to come down the backstretch three-wide. The three cars came together, with Johnson getting booted off the top of the backstretch. Tremont and Johnson both quickly ducked into the pits, but found no significant damage, and rejoined the field.

At that point, Jimmy Ryan had the lead, with Vince Quenneville Jr. and Mike Bruno hounding him over every inch of the track. When a caution came out on lap 16 for debris on the speedway, Quenneville used the restart to jump into the lead.

By lap 20, Tremont had made his way back up to third, and was closing in on Bruno for second. With five laps remaining, Bruno blew his right rear tire, bringing out a yellow and putting Tremont in second.

Quenneville maintained the lead on the restart, trying to stay low while Tremont moved to the high groove. But Quenneville got a little loose in turn four with two to go, and Tremont made his move, getting by Quenneville for the lead and taking the checkered flag for the third time this season.

Quenneville was second, his best run of the campaign on the new asphalt at Devil’s Bowl. Johnson got back up for third, with Ryan fourth and Leon Gonyo fifth.

Hunter Bates picked up his first win of the year in the sportsman feature, snapping Alex Bell’s two-race winning streak. Bates led flag-to-flag, leaving Joey Trudeau, Jared McMahon and Chris Johnson to battle for second. Trudeau won that skirmish, and also had his best run of the season. McMahon, Johnson and Don Miller completed the top five.

Jon Miller picked up his fifth straight win in the Renegade division, outrunning Frank Monroe and Larry Underwood, and Chad Brown also recorded his fifth win of the year in the Bomber Warriors feature.

A full card of racing is scheduled for Sunday, July 18, which will also see the return of one-on-one spectator racing to the Bowl. There will be a $10 entry fee for spectators who want to test their skills on the new asphalt surface, and the winner will take all.

The Bowl will also be in action on Saturday, July 17, as the Sports Car Club of Vermont will be holding its first autocross at the speedway. The autocross is scheduled to run from 8 a.m. until 5 p.m.

MODIFIEDS: KEN TREMONT JR., Vince Quenneville Jr., Marc Johnson, Jim Ryan, Leon Gonyo, Don Scarborough, Seth Roberts, Tim Laduc, Mike Bruno, Andy Haywood, Jason Bruno, Derrick McGrew, Don Mattison.

SPORTSMAN: HUNTER BATES, Joey Trudeau, Jared McMahon, Chris Johnson, Don Miller, Alex Bell, John Rheome, Paul Braymer, Tom Lilly, Matt Atwood, Jack Swinton, Josh Joseph, Carl Vladyka.

RENEGADES: JON MILLER, Frank Monroe, Larry Underwood, Chris Murray, Bill Duprey, Randy Alger, Justin Demers, Jonathan Hayes, Brian Rogers.

BOMBER WARRIORS: CHAD BROWN, Brent Warren, Justin Lilly, Nate Woodworth, Jeremy Hayes, Michael Devino, Eddie Bruno, Matt Monahan, Tyler Lescord, David Tomaczek. DNS Paul Woodworth.

DUKE STOCKS: GARRET GIVEN, Erika Lilly, Whitney Martell.