July 12, 2009

Tremont picks up third win at Devil’s Bowl

WEST HAVEN, VT –  Extra-distance races must appeal to C.V. Elms.

The promoter of Bear Ridge Speedway in New Hampshire pulled off his second big win of the season Sunday night, taking the checkered flag in the 50-lap Ridge Runner Series race at Devil’s Bowl Speedway.

The Ridge Runner Series brings together the budget sportsman from the Champlain Valley Racing Association, Bear Ridge and Glen Ridge Motorsports Park, but the series is turning into the C.V. Elms Benefit. Elms hadn’t won a feature at the Bowl until this season, but now has a pair of 50-lap wins under his belt.

In all likelihood, Elms would have been content to finish third on Sunday night, as that’s where he was running with 10 laps remaining in the 50-lapper. But a caution changed everything.

The final yellow flag flew on lap 40, and after four caution laps, the green fell again, with Jack Swinton setting the pace.

Swinton and Derrick McGrew had already kept the Devil’s Bowl fans thoroughly entertained. After starting on the front row, the duo put on a whale of a race. McGrew grabbed the lead on lap three and stayed out front for the next 34 laps, but Swinton regained the lead on lap 39.

Elms, who had started eighth, had joined the lead pack early and was right in the thick of things, running either second or third for most of the feature.

Following the final caution, McGrew moved back out in front on lap 45, and Elms finally worked his way around Swinton with two to go. The next time around, he swept past McGrew for the lead and hit the finish line with a 0.494-second advantage over McGrew. Swinton was right behind McGrew in third, with Jack Gentile fourth and Gary Siemons fifth.

Walt Brownell, who has been stringing together top-five finishes all year, recorded his third win of the 2009 campaign in the 20-lap pro-street stock feature. Brownell took the lead on lap six and easily outran Cale Kneer and Lori Langevin to get the win.

Mike Clark picked up his second win of the year in the limited feature. Clark, who won on opening night, used a late caution to take the lead away from Dave Emigh and left Emigh and Bill Duprey to battle for second. Duprey finished in the runner-up spot, beating Emigh to the finish line by a couple of feet.

Kayla Bryant was victorious in the mini-stock feature, and Andy Smith was first across the finish line in the Duke stock feature.

Devil’s Bowl will return to action on Sunday, July 19, with all divisions in action on Kids Night, which will feature kiddie rides and a number of giveaways. Racing will start at 6:45 p.m.

BUDGET SPORTSMAN (RIDGE RUNNER SERIES 50 LAPS): C.V. ELMS, Derrick McGrew, Jack Swinton, Jack Gentile, Gary Siemons, Hunter Bates, Anthony Warren, D.J. Brundige, Cullen Howe, David Herrick, Ron Wanamaker, Wayne Stearns, Angela Hanson, Seth Howe, Mike Burdo, Willy Knight, Kevin Elliott, Jared McMahon, Frank Hoard Jr., Frank Hoard III, Ron Casey, Tom Lilly, Bob Gray, MarK Hughes, Cody Sargent, Ken Towne, Shannon Donnelly.

PRO-STREET STOCKS: WALT BROWNELL, Cale Kneer, Lori Langevin, Carl Vladyka, Fred Little, Chuck Towslee, Mike Paquin, Mike Bussino, Justin Perry, Jeff Washburn.

LIMITEDS: MIKE CLARK, Bill Duprey, Dave Emigh, Paul Braymer, Joe Ladd, Lou Gancarz, Mitch Sequin, Justin Demers, Bill Vradenburg, Garret Given, Russ Farr, Jon Miller, Frank Monroe, Rob Ketcham, Bill Barett.

MINI/DUKE STOCKS: KAYLA BRYANT, Erika Lilly, Nathan Woodworth, Justin Lilly, Jon Hayes, Brent Warren, Mark Burke, Andy Smith (Duke), Chris Murray (Duke).