July 15, 2007

Ken Tremont Jr. repeats at the Bowl

WEST HAVEN, VT -  Ken Tremont Jr. reached another milestone in his racing career Sunday night when he drove to his 50th career victory in the 30-lap 358-modified feature at Devil’s Bowl Speedway. The win was his second straight, and third of the 2007 campaign, for Tremont, who is making a strong run to his third consecutive track championship.

Matt Depew came off the pole and set the pace for the first seven laps, before giving way to Ron Proctor. By lap 10, Tremont, who had started 12th, was already up to third and it looked like it was just a matter of time before he put the 115 out on the point.

That’s the scenario that developed, as Tremont moved around Depew for second on lap 13 and took the lead two laps later.

From there on, Tremont went on cruise control and was over four seconds ahead of Proctor at the finish, forcing Proctor to settle for the runner-up spot for the second time this season.

Todd Stone was third, with Depew fourth and rookie Rob Langevin fifth. Depew matched his best finish of the season, while Langevin, who moved up from the pro-street division, hit the top five for the first time this year.

Lori Cary picked up her fifth win of the season, and made it look easy in the process, in the pro street stock feature. Despite starting ninth, Cary was hooked up from the drop of the green flag, and, with the help of a caution on lap nine, got the lead midway through the 20-lap feature. Veteran Carl Vladyka tried to stick to Cary in the closing laps, but was 0.419 seconds behind at the checkered flag. Fred Little finished third, with Cale Kneer fourth and Mike Bussino fifth.

Kevin Elliott held off Randy Alger to get his second win of the year in the limited division. Elliott started on the outside pole, but needed 11 laps to work his way to the front. Alger, who started 16th in the 18-car field, used early cautions to get in contention, and was second at the same time Elliot took the lead, but Alger had to settle for second. Albany-Saratoga regular Mike Pfau made a rare trip to Vermont pay off, finishing third.

The Central New York Mini Sprints were in the lineup Sunday, with Mike Kiser, who went into the race second in the points chase, coming away with the victory. Matt Norrie was second, with current points leaders Bubba Broderick third.

The mini-stocks were also in action, and Shane Marks took the checkered flag for the third time this season.

Devil’s Bowl will return to action on Sunday, July 22, with the budget sportsman returning to join the regular CVRA divisions. It will be Seniors Night, with all fans 62 years of age and over being admitted free of charge to the grandstands.

MODIFIEDS: KEN TREMONT JR., Ron Proctor, Todd Stone, Matt Depew, Rob Langevin, Ray Hoard, Vince Quenneville Jr., Tim Laduc, Don Mattison, Gardner Stone, Gene Munger, Jim Ryan, Kris Vernold, Tyler Curtis, Frank Hoard Sr., Stan Lemiesz, Brian Whittemore, Don Ackner, Dustin Delaney.

PRO STREET STOCKS: LORI CARY, Carl Vladyka, Fred Little, Cale Kneer, Mike Bussino, Pete Broderson, Justin Perry, Chuck Towslee, Richard Glode, Don Piper, William Hull, Jim Groncki, Pat McLaughlin, Ed Thompson, Dan Eastman, Josh Joseph, Walt Brownell, Jeremie Younger.

LIMITEDS:KEVIN ELLIOT, Randy Alger, Mike Pfau, Andy Durie, Anthony Marro, Joe Ladd Jr., Adam Forbes, Guy Swears, Francis Clark Jr., Bill Decker, Justin Parker, Jeremy Jones, Bill Duprey, Mark Wallet, Tim Brunelle, Joey Trudeau, C.J. Vitagaliano. DQ: D.J. Brundige.

MINI/DUKE STOCKS: SHANE MARKS, Richard Edwards, Cliff White, Jason Rheome, Chris Murray, Ron Zagata, Tim Anagnos, Bill Parker, Russ Farr Jr., Naomi Gould, Justin Parker, Chris Atwood, Jeremy Hayes.