July 22, 2007

Ken Tremont Jr. three-peats at Devil’s Bowl

WEST HAVEN, VT -  When the 2007 racing season began, it looked like the 358-modified division at Devil’s Bowl Speedway was going to be wide-open, with five different winners in the first five weeks of the campaign.

But July has been the Ken Tremont Jr. Show. Tremont picked up his third consecutive win, and fourth victory of the season Sunday night, dominating the field.

Using patience to his advantage, Tremont methodically worked his way to the front from his 12th starting position, got the lead on lap 19 and walked away with his 51st career win at the Bowl in the 30-lap 358 modified feature.

Kris Vernold and Dustin Delaney started on the front row, with Vernold leading the first three laps before giving way to Delaney.

Delaney, Vince Quenneville Jr. and Jimmy Ryan put on a good battle for the lead, while Tremont picked his spots. Tremont got around Ryan for third on lap 11, and two laps later, charged around Quenneville to take over second.

A caution at the halfway point bunched the field, but Delaney got a good jump on the restart and retained the lead. But that would only last another four laps, as Tremont took the lead on lap 19 and began to pull away.

That left Delaney and Tim Laduc to battle for second and Laduc finally won that battle with two to go.

Tremont finished over two seconds ahead of Laduc, who finished second for the third time this season. Delaney was third, his first top-five finish of the season. Don Scarborough and Quenneville completed the top five.

Defending track champion Cale Kneer picked up his second win of the season in the 20-lap pro-street stock feature. Kneer was running third with five laps to go, but put on a late charge and got around Jeff Washburn on the final lap to get the victory, beating Washburn to the finish line by less than a car length. Carl Vlaydka was third, with Lori Cary fourth and Dan Eastman fifth.

Paul Dunham got the victory in the budget sportsman division, but he needed some help from the tech inspectors. Frank Hoard III was the first car under the checkered flag, but he failed post-race inspection, giving the victory to Dunham, who trailed by over two seconds at the finish. Alex Bell moved up to second, with Kris Bradbury third.

Bill Duprey and Joey Trudeau put on a good show in the limited feature, with Duprey coming away with his second win of the season. Duprey and Trudeau started in the front row, and swapped the lead early in the race, before Trudeau took control on lap six. But Duprey hung right with the leader, and regained the advantage on lap 17 and held off Trudeau for the win. Nick Lussier came from ninth to finish third.

Tim Anagnos beat Travis Tromans by a bumper in the mini-stock feature, giving Anagnos his fourth victory of the season.

Devil’s Bowl will return to action on Sunday, July 29, with all divisions in action on Black Flag Night. Racing will begin at 7 p.m.

MODIFIEDS: KEN TREMONT JR., Tim Laduc, Dustin Delaney, Don Scarborough, Vince Quenneville Jr., Gardner Stone, Rob Langevin, Ron Proctor, Don Ackner, Kris Vernold, John Proctor, Stan Lemiesz, Tyler Curtis, Matt Depew, Todd Stone, Jim Ryan, Ray Hoard, Gene Munger, Don Mattison, Frank Hoard Sr.

PRO-STREET STOCKS: CALE KNEER, Jeff Washburn, Carl Vladyka, Lori Cary, Dan Eastman, Mike Bussino, Chuck Towslee, Josh Joseph, Justin Perry, Walt Brownell, William Hull, Richard Glode, Ed Thompson, Jeremie Younger, Fred Little, Joe Malzac, Pat McLaughlin.

BUDGET SPORTSMAN: PAUL DUNHAM, Alex Bell, Kris Bradbury, Mike Visconti, Jared McMahon, Fred Proctor, Ralph Denison, Angela Hoard, Nicholas Hotaling, Kale Groff. DQ: Frank Hoard III.

LIMITEDS: BILL DUPREY, Joey Trudeau, Nick Lussier, Kevin Elliot, Mike Duclos, Randy Alger, Ken Conroy, Bill Vradenburg, Joe Ladd Jr., Adam Forbes, Shannon Donnelly, Justin Parker, D.J. Brundige, Jeremy Jones, Tim Brunelle, Bill Decker, Francis Clark Jr.

MINI-STOCKS: TIM ANAGNOS, Travis Tromans, Ron Zagata, Shane Marks, Cliff White, Chris Mattison, Richard Edwards, Rennie Noradki, Jason Rheome, Chris Murray, Justin Parker, Russ Farr, Bill Parker, Andy Smith, Chris Atwood, Russ Farr Jr., Jeremy Hayes.