July 26, 2009

Tremont goes back-to-back at Devil’s Bowl

WEST HAVEN, VT –  The summer of 2009 may not be hot, as far as weather goes, but Ken Tremont Jr. has certainly been sizzling.

Tremont, trying to regain his track championship at Devil’s Bowl Speedway, put in another dominating performance Sunday night, scoring his second consecutive win and fifth of the season at the Vermont track.

Rob Langevin came off the pole and set the pace for the first six laps, until relinquishing the top spot to Jimmy Ryan. By lap 10, Tremont was already in the top four.

Vince Quenneville Jr. took over the second spot on lap 11, and Tremont moved up a position the next time around. With all green-flag racing, Ryan was already in lapped traffic by lap 14, and Quenneville and Tremont weren’t far behind.

Tremont then worked his way around Quenneville on lap 20, and the next time around, rocketed past Ryan for the lead. With six to go, Quenneville took over second, but by that time, Tremont had a huge lead and hit the finish line with a 2.8-second margin of victory in the 30-lap feature as he came away with his 63rd career victory at the Bowl.

Quenneville held off defending track champion Todd Stone for second, while Ryan and Tim Laduc completed the top five.

Derrick McGrew came away with his first win of the year in the 25-lap budget sportsman feature. McGrew started fourth and used a first-lap restart to jump out to the lead. But on lap 12, Frank Hoard III worked his way around McGrew to go out on the point.

The field regrouped after a caution on lap 20, and two laps later, Hoard brought out another yellow, giving the lead back to McGrew, who outran Jack Swinton and Seth Howe to get the win.

Cale Kneer got win No. 4 in the 20-lap pro-street stock feature. Fred Little looked like he was going to return to victory lane, but Kneer had other ideas, grabbing the lead with three to go and beating Little to the stripe.

Bill Duprey pulled away from Dave Emigh to get his third win of the campaign in the caution-filled limited feature. Four cars were eliminated on a lap-12 wreck and only the top four drivers finished on the last lap.

Mike Kiser dominated the 20-lap Empire Lightning Sprints feature, recording his first win of the year at the Bowl, and Justin Lilly was first under the checkered flag in the mini stock main event.

Devil’s Bowl will return to action on Sunday, Aug. 2, with all divisions in action. The racing card will also include the annual Mountain Man Enduro.

MODIFIEDS: KEN TREMONT JR., Vince Quenneville Jr., Todd Stone, Jimmy Ryan, Tim Laduc, Rob Langevin, Ron Proctor, Kris Vernold, Gardner Stone, Don Ackner, Scott Duell, John Proctor, Frank Hoard Sr., Adam Pierson, Cass Bennett.

BUDGET SPORTSMAN: DERRICK MCGREW, Jack Swinton, Seth Howe, Hunter Bates, Jon Bates, Ron Casey, Justin Combs, Kevin Elliot, Joshua Joseph, Ken Towne, Frank Hoard III, Anthony Marro, Jeremy Bishop, Shannon Donnelly, Willy Knight, Andy Durie, Cody Sargent, D.J. Brundige, Marc Hughes, Anthony Warren, Jared McMahon, Chris Thorpe.

PRO-STREET STOCKS: CALE KNEER, Fred Little, Jeff Washburn, Chuck Towslee, Justin Perry, Carl Vladyka, Mike Bussino, Walt Brownell, Lori Langevin.

LIMITEDS: Bill Duprey, Dave Emigh, Lou Gancarz, Paul Braymer, Garret Given, Mike Clark, Frank Monroe, Russ Farr, Curtis Condon, Mitch Sequin, Jon Miller.

EMPIRE LIGHTNING SPRINTS: MIKE KISER, Matt Norrie, Jon Moore, Ralph Utter Jr., Matt Bourgoin, Shaun Gosselin, Jerry Sehn, Doug Norrie, Christian Wright, Justin Phillips. Joe Szczapa.

MINI.DUKE STOCKS: JUSTIN LILLY, Kayla Bryant, Nathan Woodworth, Joe Hayes, Erika Lilly, Brent Warren, Chris Murray (Duke), Andrew Smith (Duke), Josh Bussino (Duke), Jason Duncan (Duke).