July 27, 2003

Tremont continues hot streak

WEST HAVEN, VT. – Ken Tremont Jr. is going to hate to turn the calendar to August.

Tremont completed an outstanding month of July Sunday night by posting his second win of the season in the 30-lap 358 modified feature at Devil’s Bowl Speedway. Although rain was prevalent throughout Vermont on Sunday, Devil’s Bowl was able to get in its 10th straight week of racing.

In four races during the month of July, Tremont had two victories and two second-place finishes as he enhanced his chances of walking off with the track championship.

Sunday night’s victory was probably his easiest of the year. Through a whim of promoter Bruce Richards, the top 12 drivers in the modified point standings drew for starting positions, and Tremont, one of the last drivers to draw, picked the pole.

That was all he needed, as he went right to the front and stayed there through the feature. At the finish, he had a 1.392 second margin of victory over defending track champion Dave Camara.

Camara and Ray Hoard put on a good battle for second. Hoard did a great job withstanding Camara’s pressure, but one slip late in the race allowed Camara to get the No. 2 position.

Following Hoard across the finish line were Jim Ryan and Vince Quenneville Jr. Ryan’s finish was his best of the season, as his only other top-five finish was a fifth in the second race of the season on June 8. Completing the top 10 were Don Scarborough, Ron Proctor, Mike Perrotte, Frank Hoard Jr. and Tim Laduc.

Roy Fifield drove to his third straight victory in the 20-lap pro-street stock feature. Fifield grabbed the lead on lap 13 and pulled away from Carl Vladyka, who was a distant second. Lori Cary crossed the finish line third, followed by Mike Haines and Jay Fitzgerald.

Tim Shaw picked up his third victory of the season in the15-lap hobby stock main event. Shaw had his hands full getting past Scott Fowler to get the lead. But in the final three laps, Shaw pulled away to a two-second victory. Fowler was second, his best finish of the season, with Jim Mabb third, Joey Trudeau fourth and Shannon Donnelly fifth.

Ron Zagata earned his second feature win of the season in the cruiser division. Chris Cary Jr. was second overall, and won the four-cylinder division, with Mike Clark third, Robert Cole fourth and Brittany Ladd fifth.

The Empire Super Sprints will pull into Devil’s Bowl Sunday night for their only appearance of the season, joining the regular CVRA divisions for an exciting night of racing. ESS veteran Mike Woodring will return to try to duplicate his victory in 2002. The first green flag will drop at 7 p.m.

MODIFIEDS: KEN TREMONT JR., Dave Camara, Ray Hoard, Jim Ryan, Vince Quenneville Jr., Don Scarborough, Ron Proctor, Mike Perrotte, Frank Hoard Jr., Tim Laduc, Craig Hanson, Lance Harting, John Harrison, Don Mattison, C.V. Elms, Brian Whittemore, Chad Miller, Neal Erickson, Stan Lemiesz, Fred Proctor, Randy Howe, Kale Tremont.

PRO-STREET STOCKS: ROY FIFIELD, Carl Vladyka, Lori Cary, Mike Haines, Jay Fitzgerald, Robert Langevin, Cale Kneer, Jamie Proctor, Joe Santoro, Jeff Washburn.

HOBBY STOCKS: TIM SHAW, Scott Fowler, Jim Mabb, Joey Trudeau, Shannon Donnelly, Russ Farr, Jessie Ruhle, Pat Cram, Joe Ladd, Bill Burlingame, Curtis Condon, Tim Whitney, Donny Williams, Mike Labell, Pat Putnam, Billy Lussier, Al Gregware, Robert Ross, Tony Condon, Bill Vradenburg.

CRUISERS: RON ZAGATA, CHRIS CARY JR., Mike Clark, Robert Cole, Brittany Ladd, Jason Bishop, John Sullivan, Jason Kerr, Scott Brace, Mike Pope, Bill Bradley, Harold Clothier.