July 27, 2008

King returns to victory lane

WEST HAVEN, VT –  Sometimes, you just need a little bit of luck.

Robert King found himself sitting in the right place at the right time Sunday night, and came away with his second win of the season in the 30-lap 358-modified feature at Devil’s Bowl Speedway.

King was sitting second when leader Don Mattison dropped out with mechanical problems after getting crossed up some cars on lap 25, and then held off Todd Stone to become the first two-time winner at the Bowl this season.

Ray Hoard crossed the finish line third, with points leader Tim Laduc fourth and a rejuvenated Don Ackner fifth.

Lori Langevin completed a weekend CVRA sweep by coming away with her second win of the season in the20-lap pro-stock feature. After starting seventh, Langevin, who also won on Friday night at Albany-Saratoga, only needed four laps to get to the front and held the point as Mike Paquin, the early leader, and Fred Little battled for second. Little finally grabbed the No. 2 position on lap17, but was nearly a full second behind Langevin when the checkered flag fell. Paquin was third, with Chuck Towslee fourth and Jeff Washburn fifth.

Frank Hoard III outran Jared McMahon to post his fourth win of the season in the 20-lap budget sportsman feature. Hoard started 10th, but a couple of early cautions helped him move up to second after seven laps, and he then got the lead away from McMahon with four laps to go. Jon Bates finished third, Frank Hoard Jr. was fourth and Cullen Howe was fifth.

Joey Trudeau also put up a “4” Sunday night, getting his fourth win of the season in the limited division. Like almost every other feature this season, this one came down to Trudeau and Bill Duprey, who was also looking for his fourth win, and Trudeau prevailed. Duprey was second, with Mike Ostrander third.

The mini-stocks were also in action on Black Flag Night, with Justin Comes taking the checkered flag.

Devil’s Bowl will be back in action on Sunday, Aug. 3 on Kids Night, with the budget sportsman taking part in the Twin State Series.

MODIFIEDS: ROBERT KING, Todd Stone, Ray Hoard, Tim Laduc, Don Ackner, Ken Tremont Jr., Ron Proctor, Kris Vernold, Matt Depew, Jimmy Ryan, Joe Williams, Gardner Stone, Stan Lemiesz, John Danyou, Rob Langevin, Don Mattison, Brian Whittemore, Alex Bell, Frank Hoard Sr., Gene Munger, Vince Quenneville Jr.

PRO-STOCKS: LORI LANGEVIN, Fred Little, Mike Paquin, Chuck Towslee, Jeff Washburn, Pat McLaughlin, Roger Siliski, Carl Vladyka, Josh Joseph, Justin Perry, Mike Bussino, Ed Thompson.

BUDGET SPORTSMAN: FRANK HOARD III, Jared McMahon, Jon Bates, Frank Hoard Jr., Cullen Howe, D.J. Brundige, Seth Howe, Ron Wanamaker, Billy Lussier, Jeremy Dygert, Tom Lilly, Dan Peckham, Tim Anagnos, Jeremy Bishop, Chris Thorpe, Fred Proctor Jr., Ken Towne, Steve Williams, Don Miller, Nick Lussier.

LIMITEDS: JOEY TRUDEAU, Bill Duprey, Mike Ostrander, Bill Decker, Adam Forbes, Jeremy Jones, Rob Ketchum, Bill Vradenburg, Steve Burch, Kevin Elliott, Joe Ladd, Chris Allen, Russ Farr.