July 4, 2004

Tremont notches second win

WEST HAVEN, VT -  The biggest crowd in the history of Devil’s Bowl Speedway turned out Sunday night to watch Ken Tremont Jr. put on a dominating performance in the 30-lap 358 modified feature.

Tremont, who has had nothing but trouble on Friday nights at Albany-Saratoga Speedway, more than made up for it Sunday, outrunning Mike Perrotte to record his second victory of the season. The huge crowd was treated to an outstanding night of racing, as well as a huge 4th of July weekend fireworks display.

The victory was Tremont’s 33rd career win at the Bowl, and spoiled another strong performance by Perrotte. Perrotte, who is still looking for his first CVRA victory of the season, turned the fastest lap of the feature on lap 21 on his charge to the front, but by the time he pulled into second, Tremont was long gone, and Perrotte had to settle for his third straight runner-up performance.

Todd Stone, who began his racing career on the CVRA dirt before moving to asphalt, has returned to Sunday night racing at the Bowl, and had his best finish of the season Sunday, coming across the finish line third. C.V. Elms was fourth, his first top-five finish of the season, while defending track champion Vince Quenneville Jr. was fifth.

Scott Duell drove to his second straight win in the 20-lap Amsoil pro-street stock feature. Like Tremont, Duell also dominated the competition, leaving Cale Kneer and Robert Langevin to battle for second. And it turned out to be a heck of a battle, with Kneer crossing the finish line just four-tenths of a second ahead of Langevin.

Lori Cary finished fourth, with Bernie Companion fifth.

There was also a repeat winner in the Rentway Limited feature, as Jamie Buzzell recorded his second consecutive victory. Donnie Williams, Scott Fowler and Billy Lussier had the crowd on their feet at the finish, as they finished under a blanket, with just two-tenths of a second separating their three cars.

Elmer Montville picked up his third victory of the season in the Pro-Built Mini-Stocks feature, and Adam Piper was the winner of the Duke Stock main event.

The spectacular holiday racing card also featured a 50-lap enduro, with Tim Reed getting the win.

Devil’s Bowl will be back in action Sunday night. It will be Kids Night at the speedway, featuring the popular kiddie rides and a number of giveaways. Racing will begin at 7 p.m.

MODIFIEDS: KEN TREMONT JR., Mike Perrotte, Todd Stone, C.V. Elms, Vince Quenneville, Frank Hoard Sr., Don Scarborough, Gene Munger, Tim Laduc, Denny Young, Neal Erickson, Ray Hoard, Brian Whittemore, Chris Donnelly, Chris Garrity, Ken Anatriello, Ricky Davis, Dan Humes, Bill Bokus, Jim Ryan, Stan Lemiesz, Lance Harting, Ron Proctor.

AMSOIL PRO-STREET STOCKS: SCOTT DUELL, Cale Kneer, Robert Langevin, Lori Cary, Bernie Companion, Carl Vladyka, Dave Wood, Don Piper, Denny Martin, Fred Shippee, Ed Thompson, Randy Alger, Jeff Washburn, Bob Schmidt.

RENTWAY LIMITEDS: JAMIE BUZZELL, Don Williams, Scott Fowler, Billy Lussier, Pat Cram, Richard Stone, John Sullivan, Mark Burch, Shannon Donnelly, Jared McMahon, Bill Burlingame, Adam Forbes, Steve Holcomb, Tim Brunelle, William Duprey, Tony Condon, Russ Farr.

PRO-BUILT MINI-STOCKS: ELMER MONTVILLE, Randy Mann, John Baldwin, Jamie McCarthy, Amanda Clemens, Bobbi Jo Bean, Jason Bishop, Brittany Ladd, Gene Unser Jr., Harold Clothier, Chris Cary Jr., Dwight Cram, Charles Burns, Heather Combs, Mike Clark Jr., Patty Lucky, Mike Pope, Jeremy Brownell.