July 5, 2008

Second night of fireworks and fun at the Bowl

WEST HAVEN, VT –  Less than 24 hours after a thrilling 4th of July packed house show, Devil’s Bowl returned to action for The Night of Thrills, which included the biggest fireworks display in the history of the track. A special 76-lap feature for budget sportsman highlighted the racing card, and after Friday night’s amazing show, the fans got a repeat performance, as Duell spoiled another good night by the Hoard family.

Duell charged around Hoard III with three laps to go and picked up his first budget sportsman win of the season at the Bowl in another heart-pounding feature.

Duell, who had started eighth, had the lead after just seven laps and it looked it was going to be an easy for the second-generation driver, but Hoard III had other ideas.

He worked his way into second by lap 27, and followed Duell through traffic like the two were chained together. After using every line on the track to find a way to get around Duell, Hoard III finally made the pass for the lead with 16 laps remaining.

But a caution on lap 67 gave Duell the break he needed, and when the green came back out again with four to go, Duell rocketed back into the lead and was first under the checkered flag, with Hoard III second and his dad, Frank Hoard Jr., third. Cullen Howe and D.J. Brundige completed the top five.

Washburn drove to his second win of the year in the pro-street stock feature, and Bill Duprey dominated the limited feature, beating Kevin Elliott to the finish line by over seven seconds.

Andrew Smith got the win in the Duke stock feature, and Ken Hollenbeck won the mini-stock main event.

The night also included the Big Country enduro, which paid $980.09 to win, and the top prize and the special Big Country trophy went to John Hiedrich.

BUDGET SPORTSMAN (76 LAPS): Scott Duell, Frank Hoard III, Frank Hoard Jr., Cullen Howe, D.J. Brundige, Seth Howe, Mike Burdo, Jon Bates, Mike Visconti, Ron Wanamaker, Billy Lussier, Dan Peckham, Tom Lilly, Pete Carlotto, Don Miller, Anthony Morro, Tim Anagnos, Ralph Denison, Ken Towne, Jeremy Dygert, Jared McMahon, Matt Hyde, Stephen Williams Sr.

PRO-STREET STOCKS: JEFF WASHBURN, Carl Vladyka, Fred Little, Chuck Towslee, Lori Langevin, Justin Perry, Mike Paquin, Josh Joseph, Ron Zagata, Roger Siliski, Mike Bussino.

LIMITEDS: BILL DUPREY, Kevin Elliott, Joey Trudeau, Jeremy Jones, Jon Miller, Dave Billings, Andrew Durie, Adam Forbes, Brian O’Reilly, Joe Ladd, Joshua Coonradt, Russ Farr, Rob Ketchum, Bill Vradenburg.