June 13, 2004

Tremont gets first win of season

WEST HAVEN, VT -  One thing you can always count on at Devil’s Bowl Speedway…once Ken TremontJr. gets dialed in, he’s going to be tough to beat.

Tremont took all the little things he learned from a third-place finish on June 6 and parlayed that into his first win of the season Sunday night, taking the 30-lap 358 modified feature to highlight the annual Judith L. Richards Memorial at the Champlain Valley Racing Association’s Vermont track.

Because of his hectic racing schedule, Tremont always misses some races at the Bowl, either early in the season or late in the year, which usually costs him the track championship. But when he gets a rhythm going, he can dominate the competition.

He did that Sunday night, charging from his 12th starting position and racing away to a 2.368-second margin of victory over Gene Munger.

Munger held the lead for 12 laps until Tremont finally grabbed the lead on lap 17, and then left the field in his dust. With the win, Tremont extended his a winning streak at the Bowl to four years. Munger, still looking for his first win in a year and a half, crossed the finish line second, and it’s only a matter of time before he puts the Richardsdale Farms 75 back into victory lane. Don Scarborough finished third, with Mike Perrotte fourth and Vince Quenneville Jr. fifth.

Tim Laduc, who had a win and a second-place finish in the first two races at the Bowl, wrecked his car in a hard crash on lap eight. Completing the top 10 were Ron Proctor, Todd Stone, Jim Ryan, Lance Harting and C.V. Elms. Elms started on the pole and turned the fastest lap of the feature on lap one.

Robert Langevin picked up his first career victory in the 20-lap Amsoil pro-street stock feature. Langevin is one of the converts to the CVRA crate engine program, and those engines have dominated the division this season.
Langevin, who started fourth in the field, took the lead away from Cale Kneer on lap five. Scott Duell, who recorded his first career victory two weeks ago at Albany-Saratoga Speedway, moved into the No. 2 position on lap eight and hung right with Langevin during the closing laps of the race, but had to settle for second. Carl Vladyka crossed the finish line third, with Lori Cary fourth and Kneer fifth.

Another first-time winner emerged out of the Rentway Limited class, as former enduro driver Jamie Buzzell notched his first career victory. Buzzell started on the pole and led every lap of the 15-lap feature, but showed a lot of poise, as he had to overcome a number of restarts early in the race. Scott Fowler, who started 10th, got up to third and put on a good battle with Billy Lussier for the No. 2 position, but Lussier, who had started on the outside pole, hung onto the runner-up spot, with Fowler third, Don Williams fourth and William Duprey fifth.

John Baldwin ran away and hid from the field in the Pro-Built Mini-Stock feature, winning by a whopping 12.270 seconds over Brittany Ladd. Both Baldwin and Ladd were driving four-cylinders. Bobbi Jo Bean was third and had the first six-cylinder to cross the finish line.

The Duke Stocks were also in action, with Adam Piper taking the checkered flag in front of Jeremie Younger and Ted Smith.

Devil’s Bowl will return to action Sunday night with a Father’s Day Special, which will include the second appearance of the season of the crowd-pleasing Coupes. Racing will start at 7 p.m.

MODIFIEDS: KEN TREMONT JR, Gene Munger, Don Scarborough, Mike Perrotte, Vince Quenneville Jr., Ron Proctor, Todd Stone, Jim Ryan, Lance Harting, C.V. Elms, Brian Whittemore, Ken Anatriello, Frank Hoard Sr., Denny Young, Pete Kimball, Frank Keene, Ray Hoard, Jon Trudeau, John Harrison, Dick Bisson, Tim Laduc, Don Ronca.

AMSOIL PRO-STREET STOCKS: ROBERT LANGEVIN, Scott Duell, Carl Vladyka, Lori Cary, Cale Kneer, Randy Alger, Jeff Washburn, Ed Thompson, Denny Martin, Chris Lussier.

RENTWAY LIMITEDS: JAMIE BUZZELL, Billy Lussier, Scott Fowler, Don Williams, William Duprey, Richard Stone, Pat Cram, Jon Sullivan, Arnie Trudeau, Brian Ashline, Mark Burch, Joe Ladd, Bill Burlingame, Adam Forbes, Tim Brunelle, Tracy Ash, Ben Ladd, Jared McMahon, Steve Holcomb, Tony Condon, Joey Trudeau, Shannon Donnelly, William Vradenburg, Mike Labelle.

PRO-BUILT MINI-STOCKS: JOHN BALDWIN, Brittany Ladd, Bobbi Jo Bean, Jason Bishop, Mike Pope, Chris Cary Jr., Bobby Stearns, Elmer Montville, Chuck Burns, Harold Clothier.