June 19, 2005

Ray Hoard makes it two in a row with dramatic win

WEST HAVEN, VT -  Just when it looked like Ray Hoard was going to run out of time, he turned on the after-burners.

Hoard rocketed around Tim Laduc on the white flag lap and recorded his second consecutive victory in the 30-lap Fair Haven Dodge 358 modified feature to highlight the special Father’s Night activities at Devil’s Bowl Speedway.

Laduc, who hasn’t been back to victory lane since winning the opening night race of the 2004 season, seemed to have this one well in hand until he began working his way through lapped cars late in the race, which gave Hoard the opportunity he needed.

Lance Harting came off the front row and set the early pace, but Laduc, who had started seventh, and Hoard, who was ninth in the large 27-car field, were never far behind. When the field regrouped on lap six, after Chris Vernold and C.V. Elms brought out the yellow flag, Laduc used the restart to move into the No. 2 position.

Four laps later, Harting succumbed to the pressure, giving up the lead to Laduc, and by that time, Hoard had already moved up to fourth.

After another restart on lap 11, the large crowd was treated to some great racing by three of Vermont’s finest, as Laduc, Jimmy Ryan and Hoard were slugging it out all over the race track. Hoard finally moved past Ryan into the No. 2 position at the halfway point of the race, and now, it was a two-car race.

Running under green flag conditions, Laduc held his line while Hoard kept looking for a place to pass, and with five laps to go, the leaders were in some heavy traffic. Hoard remained patient, waiting for the right time, and on the white flag lap, finally saw an opening and shot through to get the victory.

Laduc finished second, 1.261 seconds back, with Ryan third, his first top-five finish of the season.

Mike Perrotte also broke into the top five for the first time this season, crossing the line fourth, and Ken Tremont Jr. was fifth. Completing the top 10 were Ron Proctor, Bob Savoie, Brian Whittemore, Gene Munger and Harting.

Heat winners were Ryan, Hoard and Harting.

Scott Duell used a good starting position to record his third victory on the season in the 20-lap Ed Davis Auto & RV pro-street stock feature. After starting seventh, Duell only needed five laps to get the lead away from Don Williams, and cruised to victory. His Lazzaro Motorsports teammate, Hollywood Joe Santoro, finished in the runner-up spot, with Walt Brownell Jr. third, Jeff Martin fourth and Mike Haines fifth.

William Duprey was also a repeat winner, picking up his second win of the season in the 15-lap Rentway Limited feature. Two early cautions helped Duprey move from his seventh starting position, and he took the lead away from Mark Burch on lap eight.

Pat Cram made a late charge and got past Burch for second on the final lap. Joey Trudeau and Richard Stone followed Burch across the finish line.

Randy Manhey breezed to his second win of the year in the Pro-Built mini-stock feature, beating runner-up John Baldwin to the finish line by over seven seconds.

Devil’s Bowl will return to action on Sunday, June 26 with its Kids’ Night activities, which will include giveaways and the popular kiddie rides.

FAIR HAVEN DODGE MODIFIEDS: RAY HOARD, Tim Laduc, Jim Ryan, Mike Perrotte, Ken Tremont Jr., Ron Proctor, Bob Savoie, Brian Whittemore, Gene Munger, Lance Harting, Denny Young, Frank Hoard Sr., Richard Moses, Marc Johnson, Todd Stone, C.V. Elms, John Proctor, Matt Depew, Stan Lemiesz, Gardner Stone, Brent LaCoste, Vince Quenneville Jr., Butch Jelley, Chris Vernold, Merv Blackwell, Chris Donnelly, Mike Pinke.

ED DAVIS AUTO & RV PRO-STREET STOCKS: SCOTT DUELL, Joe Santoro, Walt Brownell Jr., Jeff Martin, Mike Haines, Robert Langevin, Ed Thompson, Jeff Washburn, Don Williams, Cale Kneer, Scott Fowler, Bob Schmidt, Mike Bussino, Daniel Granuilleny, Billy Lussier..

RENTWAY LIMITEDS: WILLIAM DUPREY, Pat Cram, Mark Burch, Joey Trudeau, Richard Stone, Tim Whitney, Mike Wilber, Mike Clark, William Vradenburg, Tony Condon, Jamie Buzzell, Benny Ladd, Tracy Ash, Mike Scorzelli, Jared McMahon, Adam Piper, Russ Farr, Joe Ladd.

PRO-BUILT MINI-STOCKS: RANDY MANHEY, John Baldwin, Jeremy Brownell, Carl Whittemore, Jason Bishop, Mike Clark, Jamie Gearwar.