June 20, 2010

Tremont gets first win of the season at Devil’s Bowl

WEST HAVEN, VT –  It looks like Ken Tremont Jr. is getting this asphalt thing figured out.

After two weeks of tinkering, experimenting and getting close, Tremont put it all together Sunday night and came away with his first modified win of the season at Devil’s Bowl Speedway.

The victory was the 65th career win at the Bowl for Tremont, the defending track champion, and he made it look easy, leading from flag-to-flag in a caution free 30-lap feature.

Tremont and Don Scarborough separated themselves from the pack quickly, leaving Mike Bruno, looking for his second straight win, to pick his way through the field.

Lapped traffic came into play late in the race, but Scarborough never had the chance to get close enough to Tremont to mount a real threat for the lead.

Tremont was first under the checkered flag, followed by Scarborough, Mike Perrotte, Bruno and Marc Johnson.

Chris Johnson drove to his first career win in the wild sportsman feature. Fred Proctor appeared to be on his way to a victory when he got into lapped traffic late in the feature. With two to go, Proctor got into the rear of the lapped car of Paul Braymer in turn one, which allowed Hunter Bates to grab the lead. But Bates, running the low line, also made contact with Braymer, who was trying to hold the low line, in the third turn. Proctor went high to try to avoid the two cars, but the trio wound up in the fourth turn wall, giving the lead to Johnson, who was far enough behind at the time to stay out of trouble.

Johnson went on to get the victory, with Don Miller second, Cullen Howe third, Paul Dunham Jr. fourth and Jared McMahon fifth.

Jon Miller recorded his second straight win in the Renegades feature, and Tyler Lescard won the Bomber Warriors feature.

Devil’s Bowl also ran a special 20-lap Pro-Stock/Super Street feature, with Scott MacMichael hauling in and taking home the top prize of $250.

June 27 will be Seniors Night at the Bowl, with all fans 62 years of age and older being admitted free. All divisions will be in action, and the card will include an appearance at the RAVE car club.

MODIFIEDS: KEN TREMONT JR., Don Scarborough, Mike Perrotte, Mike Bruno, Marc Johnson, Derrick McGrew, Leon Gonyo, Don Mattison, Tim Laduc, Jimmy Ryan, Vince Quenneville Jr., Jeremy Markle, Jason Bruno.

SPORTSMAN: CHRIS JOHNSON, Don Miller, Cullen Howe, Paul Dunham Jr., Jared McMahon, Jack Swinton, Alex Bell, Joey Trudeau, Fred Proctor, Hunter Bates, Paul Braymer, Kevin Elliot, Andy Durie, Carl Vladyka.

RENEGADES: JON MILLER, Randy Alger, David Emigh, Frank Monroe, Chris Murray, Brian Rogers, Neil Hanson, Jonathan Hayes, Andy Smith.

PRO-STOCKS.SUPER STREETS: SCOTT MACMICHAEL, Russ Davis, Mike Scorzelli, Chris Wilk, Shelton Martin, Jeremy Houghtaling, Kayla Bryant, Jamie Atkins, Bobby Schmidt.