June 8, 2008

Tremont notches first win at the Bowl

WEST HAVEN, VT –  Here’s some bad news for the rest of the 358-modified division at Devil’s Bowl Speedway. Ken Tremont Jr. is back.

The defending track champion showed just how dominant he can be Sunday night, leaving the rest of the field in his dust as he recorded his first win of the season in the 30-lap 358-modified feature.

After starting ninth, Tremont only needed five laps to break into the top three, and haunted pole-sitter Don Mattison before finally taking the lead on lap 17. Keeping the hammer down and easily working his way through traffic as the feature ran caution-free after a first-lap yellow, Tremont finished with a whooping 7.2-second advantage over Mattison as he recorded his 56th career victory at the Vermont track.

With Tremont checking out, the best battle of the night was between Mattison and Tim Laduc for second. Every time Mattison cleared a lapped car, Laduc stuck right with him, but Mattison held on for second, just two-tenths of a second ahead of Laduc, who has finished in the top five in all three features this season, the only driver who can make that claim.

Rob Langevin crossed the finish line fourth, his second straight top-five finish at the track, and Vince Quenneville Jr. was fifth.

Frank Hoard III picked up a dramatic victory in the 20-lap budget sportsman feature. Scott Duell, who started seventh, had the fastest car on the track and used two early cautions to move to the front on lap six. One of the cars he passed in the first five laps belonged to Hoard, but he never let Duell out of his sights, and passed Duell on the last lap to come away with his first win of the season.

Duell, coming off a Friday-night victory at Albany-Saratoga Speedway, had to settle for second Sunday, with Mike Visconti third, Jared McMahon fourth and Gary Siemons fifth.

Veteran Carl Vladyka recorded his second win of the season in the pro-street stock feature. Vladyka started on the pole and set the pace for the first seven laps before giving up the top spot to Jeff Washburn.

But Washburn’s lead was short-lived, as Vladyka pushed his ride back out on the point on lap 11, and stayed there the rest of the way. Washburn was second, followed by Lori Langevin, Fred Little and Ed Thompson.

Bill Duprey became the third different winner in as many weeks in the limited division, holding off Joey Trudeau to to get the checkered flag and Michelle Catone came away with her first career win in the mini-stock feature.

Devil’s Bowl will return to action on Sunday, June 15 on Kids’ Night, which will include kiddie rides, giveaways and the annual Fathers’ Race. Racing will begin at 6:45 p.m.

MODIFIEDS: KEN TREMONT JR., Don Mattison, Tim Laduc, Rob Langevin, Vince Quenneville Jr., Don Ackner, Robert King, Ron Proctor, Ray Hoard, Kris Vernold, Jimmy Ryan, John Proctor, Todd Stone, Gardner Stone, Marc Johnson, Brian Whitteore, Alex Bell, Stan Lemiesz, Kale Groff, Robert Allen, Matt Depew, Frank Hoard Sr.

PRO-STREET STOCKS: CARL VLADYKA, Jeff Washburn, Lori Langevin, Fred Little, Ed Thompson, Mike Paquin, Justin Perry, Josh Joseph, Mike Bussino, Chuck Towslee, Roger Slilski, Walt Brownell, Bobby Schmidt, Mike Aldrich, Jake Losaw.

BUDGET SPORTSMAN: FRANK HOARD III, Scott Duell, Mike Visconti, Jared McMahon, Gary Siemons, Frank Hoard Jr., C.V. Elms, Cullen Howe, Seth Howe, D.J. Brundige, Ralph Denison, Nick Hotaling, Ron Wanamaker, Billy Lussier, Tom Lilly, Nick Lussier, Paul Dunham Jr., Dennis Pennock, Ken Towne, Fred Proctor Jr., Tim Anagnos, Steve Williams, Don Miller, Chris Allen.

LIMITEDS: BILL DUPREY, Joey Trudeau, Kevin Elliott, Bill Vradenburg, Bill Decker, Russ Farr, Justin Parker, Jeremy Jones, Joe Ladd, Bill Burlingame, Megan Purstell, Adam Forbes.