May 25, 2003

Camara wins opener

WEST HAVEN, VT. – It’s not summer yet, but they’re alreadyshowing reruns at Devil’s Bowl Speedway. Dave Camara dominated the 30-lap modified feature, and Carl Vladyka polished off thefield in the pro-street stock feature as the Champlain Valley Racing Association track kicked off its37th season of racing Sunday night. Last year, Camara andVladyka were also the opening nightwinners.

Camara’s win allowed him to complete a weekend sweep, as he also won Friday night’s feature atAlbany-Saratoga Speedway. Although Camara dominated the event after he took the lead from DonMattison on lap six, there was still plenty of excitement on the well-groomed track, which was smoothand fast all night. Vince Quenneville Jr., who lost the point championship to Camara on the final nightof the 2002 season, and Don Scarborough, back at the Bowl after sporadic appearances in the lasttwo years, were using every inch of the track to make their way to the front.

With Camara steadily pulling away, Ron Proctor and Quenneville engaged in a good battle for the No.2 position, with Proctor finally prevailing. Scarborough came across the finish line fourth, with TimLaduc fifth in his first run behind the wheel of the Sput Shaw 57. Camara, Ray Hoard and Jim Ryan were the heat race winners.

Although Vladyka had control of the 20-lap pro-street stock feature, the outcome was never reallydecided until the final lap, as both Mike Haines and rookie Lori Cary, who had posted her firstpro-street win ever Friday night at Albany-Saratoga Speedway, refused to go away. At the checkeredflag, Vladyka had a 0.283-second margin of victory, with Cary less than a half-second back in third.Opening-day events bring out the best in Vladyka, who also won the opening-day feature atAlbany-Saratoga Speedway this season.

The hobby stocks put on one of the best shows of the night, with Tim Shaw coming away with his firstcareer victory. Russ Farr, also looking for his first win, kept the pressure on Shaw throughout the15-lap feature, but couldn’t make the pass for the lead, settling for second place. Curtis Condon wasthird.

The cruisers were also in action Sunday night, with Robert Ross pulling away for an easy win over RonZagatta and Jeremy Brownell.

Devil’s Bowl will return to action Sunday with the Second Annual Judith L. Richards Memorial. Theday-long event, a benefit for the Rutland Area Visiting Nurses Association/Hospice, features a carshow, live band, kiddie rides, autograph sessions, raffles and giveaways in the afternoon, followed by a full card of racing atnight. Last year, the benefit raised over $12,000 for the nurses’ association.

MODIFIEDS: DAVE CAMARA, Ron Proctor, Vince Quenneville Jr., Don Scarborough, Tim Laduc, Don Mattison, Gene Munger, Jim Ryan, Randy Howe, Mike Perrotte, John Harrison, Neal Erickson, Chad Miller, Terry Hayes, Rich Ronca, Stan Lemiesz, Ed Pieniazek Jr., Chris Burnell, Lance Harting, Frank Hoard Sr., Ray Hoard.

PRO-STREET STOCKS: CARL VLADYKA, Mike Haines, Lori Cary, Randy Brownell, Cale Kneer, Jeff Washburn, Ed Thompson, Woody Woods, Roy Fifield, Jason Brownell, Denny Martin. DQ: Jim Groncky.

HOBBY STOCKS: TIM SHAW, Russ Farr, Curtis Condon, Tim Ippolito, Donny Williams, Billy Lussier, No. 46, No. 10, Bob Smith, Shannon Donnelly, Nathan Chaves, No. 02.