May 27, 2007

Scarborough wins rain-shortened Devil’s Bowl Opener

WEST HAVEN, VT -  The long winter layoff obviously didn’t affect Don Scarborough.

Scarborough, who won the final race of the 2006 season at Devil’s Bowl Speedway, picked right up where he left off Sunday night, winning the rain-shortened CJ 101 that kicked off the 41st season of racing at the Vermont track.

Scarborough, who started seventh, got the lead on lap 41 and then easily held off defending track champion Ken Tremont Jr. to record his 30th career modified victory at the Bowl. The feature was stopped after 80 laps because of rain.

Matt DeLorenzo, coming off a second-place finish Friday night at Albany-Saratoga Speedway, and veteran Ron Proctor put on a good show during the early stages of the feature, trading the lead on a couple of occasions. But once Scarborough got in front, no one was going to catch the Brandon Bandit.

Tremont, who started 12th, seemed to be the only car capable of staying with Scarborough in the latter stages of the race, but Tremont had to settle for second, with DeLorenzo third, Proctor fourth and Vince Quenneville Jr. fifth.

Lori Cary and Jeff Washburn renewed their rivalry in the pro-street stock feature, with Cary coming away with her first win of the season. Cary started on the pole and set the pace for the first nine laps before giving up the lead to Washburn, who had started third. But Cary hung tough, regained the lead and hit the checkered flag 0.626 seconds ahead of Washburn, who was coming off a Friday night victory at Albany-Saratoga. Defending track champion Cale Kneer was third, followed by Freddie Little and Richard Glode.

The budget sportsman made their first-ever appearance at the Bowl on Sunday, with Fred Proctor taking the checkered flag ahead of Paul Dunham Jr. The Hoard family made their presence felt, with Frank Hoard III coming across the stripe third and Angela Hoard nailing down the No. 4 spot. Kate Groff completed the top five.

Shane Marks picked up his first win of the year in the mini/duke stock feature, easily outrunning Tim Anagnos.

The limiteds will run their rain-delayed feature first on the card next week.

Devil’s Bowl will be back in action on Sunday, June 3 with the double-point Spring Championships. Racing will begin at 7 p.m.

MODIFIEDS (SHORTENED TO 80 LAPS BY RAIN): DON SCARBOROUGH, Ken Tremont Jr., Matt DeLorenzo, Ron Proctor, Vince Quenneville Jr., Gene Munger, Don Mattison, Jim Ryan, Keith Flach, Todd Stone, Tim LaDuc, Rob Langevin, Matt Depew, Ray Hoard, Brent Lacoste, Scott Duell, John Proctor, Frank Hoard Sr., Rich Salisbury, Kris Vernold, Don Ackner, Dustin Delaney, Brian Whittemore.

PRO-STREET STOCKS: LORI CARY, Jeff Washburn, Cale Kneer, Freddie Little, Richard Glode, Dan Eastman, Carl Vladyka, Mike Bussino, Kim Duell, Charles Towslee, Mike Lussier, Ed Thompson, Jon Bates, Dan Woods, Don Williams, Jamie Buzzell, Pat McLaughlin, Justin Perry, Will Hull, Jim Groncki, Jeremie Younger.

BUDGET SPORTSMAN: FRED PROCTOR, Paul Dunham Jr., Frank Hoard III, Angela Hoard, Kate Groff, Ralph Denison, Kris Bradbury, Mike Visconti, Bryan Davis, John Russo, Jared McMahon, Tim Reed.

MINI/DUKE STOCKS: SHANE MARKS (4), Tim Anagnos (6), Cliff White (4), Jim Anagnos (6), Justin Rheome (4), R.J.Edwards (6), Ron Zagata (6), Chris Murray (4), Justin Parker (Duke), Chris Atwood (Duke), Russ Farr Jr. (Duke), Naomi Gould (Duke).