NASCAR to Honor Stone’s National Rookie Title this Week

Devil’s Bowl Speedway champion to be recognized at NASCAR Hall of Fame

CHARLOTTE, NC – Devil’s Bowl Speedway champion Todd Stone will be feted as one of the country’s most accomplished stock car drivers on Friday, December 13, as he is honored during an awards ceremony for the NASCAR Whelen All-American Series (NWAAS). The black-tie gala will be held in the Crown Ballroom at the NASCAR Hall of Fame in Charlotte, NC, featuring top short track racers from more than 50 NASCAR-sanctioned tracks in the United States and Canada.

Stone, of Middlebury, VT, will be celebrated as the National Rookie of the Year presented by Jostens, a title he secured on the strength of a record-shattering 10 victories in the Bond Auto Parts Modified division at NASCAR-sanctioned Devil’s Bowl Speedway. As a first-time NWAAS Division I license holder, Stone outpaced asphalt Late Model drivers Bobby McCarty of South Boston (VA) Speedway, Cole Williams and Matt Wallace of Lebanon I-44 (MO) Speedway, and dirt Modified driver Frank Cozze of Grandview (PA) Speedway for the national rookie championship.

Stone will also collect awards for his Devil’s Bowl Speedway track championship and NASCAR Vermont State Champion and Rookie of the Year titles. He finished 30th in NWAAS Division I national championship standings. Combining point funds and special awards, Stone is expected top $8,000 in post-season winnings.

NASCAR Whelen All-American Series National Champion Lee Pulliam of Semora, NC, will collect his second consecutive title after 27 asphalt Late Model victories in 47 starts at four southeastern tracks. The NASCAR Whelen All-American Series sanctions weekly stock car racing at more than 50 asphalt and dirt tracks in North America under a common championship point structure; each driver’s best 18 results in designated Division I events are counted toward their state and national point totals.

Devil’s Bowl Speedway will honor Stone and the local champions and top rookies from its four NWAAS weekly racing divisions at the Banquet of Champions on Saturday, February 1, 2014 at the Holiday Inn Rutland-Killington in Rutland, VT. Ticket order forms are available online at, or by emailing a request to or calling (802) 265-3112.

Devil’s Bowl Speedway is located on Route 22A in West Haven, VT, four miles north of Exit 2 on U.S. Route 4. For more information, visit or call (802) 265-3112. Devil’s Bowl Speedway is on Facebook at and on Twitter and Instagram at @DevilsBowlSpeed.

(Getty Images for NASCAR)

Comments are closed.