September 4, 2005

Tremont saves best for last

WEST HAVEN, VT -  Ken Tremont Jr. took all the guesswork out of the 358 modified point chase Sunday night at Devil’s Bowl Speedway.

Needing to finish in front of Ray Hoard to win the title, Tremont picked up his third victory of the season in the 100-lap feature on Championship Weekend, and earned his first point championship at the Bowl since 1984, which was the last year that the Vermont track had big blocks as its premier division.

Tremont and Hoard started side-by-side in the fifth row in the 100-lap feature, which also offered double points, but right from the start, it was obvious that Tremont had the S&S Paving small block hooked up, just as he had on Friday night, when he came away with a victory at Albany-Saratoga Speedway.

By lap six, Tremont had already rocketed to second, and for the next 15 laps, he and Todd Stone had the Labor Day holiday crowd on its feet with some spectacular racing.

Tremont took the lead for the first time on lap 16, but the next time around, Stone was back in front. But Tremont kept the hammer down, and on lap 20, was back in front, this time for good.

Hoard’s bid for his second straight title went out the window early, as he was involved in a tangle on lap 12, and had to go to the rear. That was just the start of a miserable night for the defending champion, who finished 23rd in the 30-car field.

Albany-Saratoga Speedway regular Matt Delorenzo, making a rare Sunday trip to Vermont, worked his way up to second by lap 69, after starting 14th and hung with Tremont for the final 30 laps, but had to settle for second.

Vince Quenneville Jr. hit the finish line third, with Jimmy Ryan fourth and Tim Laduc fifth.

The remainder of the modified finish was unofficial, as track management planned to review the scoring to sort out a couple of discrepancies.

Rob Langevin came away with his second victory of the season in the 20-lap pro-street stock feature. Ed Thompson came out of the second row and set the pace for the first 16 laps, but Langevin moved in front on lap 17 and held off Thompson for the victory. Lori Cary was third, followed by Steve Burega and Jeff Martin.

Scott Duell finished 11th, but had already accumulated enough points to win the track championship, his first ever.

Tim Shaw took the lead with two laps remaining and came away with his second win of the year in the 15-lap Rentway Limited division. Bill Duprey, who had started eighth, only needed three laps to get to the front, but he couldn’t hold off Shaw in the closing laps. But by finishing second, Duprey locked up the title in the Rentway division.

Randy Manhey used his sixth victory of the season to secure the track championship in the Pro-Built mini-stock division.

The night ended with a 50-lap enduro, which was won by Richard Langley.

Although track champions have been crowned, the season at Devil’s Bowl Speedway isn’t over yet. All divisions will be in action on Sunday, Sept. 11, when the track holds its Tribute to 9/11. All firefighters and law enforcement officials will be admitted free of charge.

MODIFIEDS: KEN TREMONT JR., Matt Delorenzo, Vince Quenneville Jr., Jimmy Ryan, Tim Laduc, Ron Proctor. Remainder of finish unofficial pending approval by track management.

PRO-STREET STOCKS: ROBERT LANGEVIN, Ed Thompson, Lori Cary, Steve Burega, Jeff Martin, Cale Kneer, Dan Benard, Dave Wood, Walt Brownell Jr., Jeff Washburn, Scott Duell, Tom O’Connor, Don Williams, Don Piper, Bill Smith IV, Jon Bates, Jimmy Eaton.

RENTWAY LIMITEDS: TIM SHAW, Bill Duprey, Joey Trudeau, Tracy Ash, No. 82, Joe Ladd, Shannon Donnelly, Billy Lussier, Tim Brunelle, Jeff Smith, No. 47, Adam Piper, Kevin Elliott, Adam Forbes, Ben Ladd, John Sullivan. DQ: Jared McMahon, Russ Farr.