August 13, 2006

Tremont turns back bounty hunters at Bowl

WEST HAVEN, VT - After two weeks of falling victim to bounty hunters, Ken Tremont Jr. proved that momentum is more important than motivation. With a strong field of 27 modifieds taking the green, fans at the West Haven track were treated to a roaring green flag start.

Charging out of the 10 hole and making a quick run to the front, Tremont overpowered the field and walked off with his seventh victory of the season Sunday night in the 30-lap 358 modified feature at Devil’s Bowl Speedway sponsored by Rentway.

Coming off a Friday night win at Albany-Saratoga Speedway, Tremont had his swagger back Sunday night at the Bowl, and it showed. Two early yellows helped him move up to second after just seven laps and he blew by Ron Proctor for the lead on lap 12.

A long run of green flag laps allowed Tremont to pull away, and even when the final yellow came out on lap 24, allowing teenager Dustin Delaney, who was sitting second, to finally draw a bead on the rear of Tremont’s car, Tremont was just too tough, and picked up his 47th career win at the Bowl.

The final caution proved to be costly to a couple of Vermont’s favorite sons. Ben Elder brought out the yellow when he spun out on lap 24, and on the subsequent restart, Vince Quenneville Jr. and Don Scarborough tangled, collecting Gene Munger in the process.

By bushwhacking the bounty hunters, Tremont picked up a $250 bonus of his own, giving him a nice payday of $1,250. His victory overshadowed an impressive performance by Delaney, who runs in the sportsman division at Albany-Saratoga. Delaney, who has been honing his skills on Sunday nights at the Bowl, crossed the finish line second, his best career finish at the CVRA Vermont track.

Jimmy Ryan finished third for the second straight week, with Proctor fourth and Ray Hoard fifth. Completing the top 10 were Frank Hoard Sr., Mike Perrotte, Tim Laduc, Quenneville and Todd Stone.

Lori Cary survived a number of yellow flags to pick up her second win of the year in the 20-lap pro-street stock feature. Like Tremont, Cary also started 10th and moved out on the point on lap eight, but she had her hands full with challengers, thanks to the yellows.

Cale Kneer, looking for his second straight win, followed Cary to the front and stayed right on the rear bumper of Cary’s hot-pink machine. Will Hull brought out a yellow on lap 12 when he spun in turn two, and Jim Groncki went off the backstretch and got dangerously close to the pond that borders the rear of the speedway.

Hull brought out another yellow two laps later when his car came to a stop, but when the green came back out, Cary was able to get a little breathing room, as Kneer had Carl Cram applying some serious pressure.

Rob Langevin was also making a late move, but he got into the back of Kneer’s car making a bid for third on lap 23, and spun out. The final yellow had no bearing on the finish, as Cary held her line and was nearly a second ahead of Kneer at the finish. Carl Vladyka took advantage of the late scramble to get up for third. Cary seems to have become a fan favorite at the Bowl, as quite a roar came from the crowd when she took the checkers.

Kevin Elliot led all but one lap to record his first win of the season in the limited division, and Mike Duclos returned to victory lane after continued domination in the mini-stock division, notching his fourth straight win and sixth of the season.

Devil’s Bowl returns to action on Sunday, August 20th, with its annual Armed Services Night. All retired or active military personnel with valid ID will be allowed in free to the grandstands. Racing begins at 7 p.m.

MODIFIEDS: KEN TREMONT JR., Dustin Delaney, Jim Ryan, Ron Proctor, Ray Hoard, Frank Hoard Sr., Mike Perrotte, Tim Laduc, Vince Quenneville Jr., Todd Stone, Chris Donnelly, Don Mattison, Leon Gonyo, Gardner Stone, Rick Davis, Don Ackner, Gene Munger, Don Scarborough, Matt Depew, Mike Bruno, Brian Whittemore, Chris Vernold, Ben Elder, Ed Pieniazek Jr., Shawn Cassidy, C.V. Elms, Rich Stromberg.

PRO-STREET STOCKS: LORI CARY, Cale Kneer, Carl Vladyka, Carl Cram, Walt Brownell Jr., Jonah Rule, Jeremie Younger, Dan Eastman, Jon Bates, Justin Perry, Rob Langevin, Charlie Towslee, Will Hull, Jim Groncki, Mike Lussier, Fred Little, Jeff Washburn.

LIMITEDS: KEVIN ELLIOT, Bill Duprey, D.J. Brundige, Joey Trudeau, Jared McMahon, Adam Forbes, Joe Ladd, Merv Blackwell, Randy Alger, Jeremy Jones, Bill Decker, Mark Wallett, Adam Piper, John Russo.

MINI-STOCKS: MILE DUCLOS (6), Brette Osgood (4), Ron Zagata (6), Carl Whittemore (6), Bruce Taylor Jr. (4), Cliff White (4), Tim Anagnos (6), C.J. Vitigliano, Tim Brooks, Tim Reed, Justin Parker, Jeff Smith.