August 30, 2009

Tremont shut out, Hoard, Stone win at the Bowl

WEST HAVEN, VT –  The battle for the 358-modified track championship at Devil’s Bowl Speedway is turning into a real tug of war. First, Ken Tremont Jr. pulls; then, Todd Stone yanks.

Stone drove to his second win of the year in the second of double features Sunday night, setting up a wild finish on the final night of the season.

Devil’s Bowl will conclude its season on Sunday, Sept. 6, with a 50-lapper for 358-modifieds, which offers double points. Unofficially, Tremont will go into the final night with a 10-point lead.

While Stone won the second feature, Ray Hoard came away with a popular win in the first 30-lapper, which was carried over from a rainout on Aug. 23. The victory was Hoard’s first at the Bowl since Sept. 3, 2006.

In the first feature, Hoard, who started fifth, took the lead away from Vince Quenneville Jr. on lap 12 and survived a number of late restarts to post his ninth career win at the Bowl. Hoard is no stranger to success at Devil’s Bowl, as he won the 358-modified point title in 2004.

Quenneville continued his outstanding late-season run, crossing the finish line second for his fifth consecutive top-five finish. Tremont was third, followed by Marc Johnson and Tim Laduc, Stone finished seventh, which allowed Tremont to pad his point lead.

But Stone came back with an impressive victory, the 15th of his career, in the second feature. Again, Quenneville was the early leader, but Stone, who started 12th, charged into the lead on lap on lap 16 and destroyed the field, finishing with a 4.5-second margin of victory over Quenneville. Tremont was again third, with Laduc fourth and Hoard fifth.

Frank Hoard III and Derrick McGrew got the wins in the budget sportsman features. McGrew’s win, his second of the year, was doubly important because CVRA budget sportsman points were on the line.

Hoard III held off Hunter Bates to come away with his fourth win of the year in the first feature. He and Bates battled right to the finish line, with Hoard winning by a bumper. Justin Comes was third, with Anthony Marro fourth and Frank Hoard Jr. fifth.

McGrew outran Tim Hartman Jr. and Jack Swinton to come away with the win in the second 25-lapper. Marc Hughes finished fourth, with Hoard III fifth.

Cale Kneer pulled off a sweep in the pro-street stock division, winning both features to up his victory total to six in 2009, and Bill Duprey pulled off back-to-back wins in the limited division, giving him five wins on the season.

The Empire Lightning Sprints were back at the Bowl on Sunday night, with Don Harvey taking the checkered flag ahead of Ralph Utter Jr. and Mike Kiser. The win was Harvey’s second of the campaign at the Bowl, while Kiser now has a win, a second and a third in three trips to the Vermont track.

The final night of racing on Sunday, Sept. 6 will feature the, which will include a 50-lapper for 358-modifieds. Double points will be offered in all divisions, and the CRSA sprints will make their final appearance of 2009 at the speedway. The racing action, which will begin at 5:45 p.m., will also include an enduro.

MODIFIEDS (Carried over from Aug. 23): RAY HOARD, Vince Quenneville Jr., Ken Tremont Jr., Marc Johnson, Tim Laduc, Don Mattison, Todd Stone, Gardner Stone, Don Ackner, Adam Pierson, Darren Keyser, Kris Vernold, Dave Manny, Chad Miller, Jimmy Ryan, Brian Whittemore, Scott Duell, Ron Proctor, Cullen Howe.

MODIFIEDS (Regular feature): TODD STONE, Vince Quenneville Jr., Ken Tremont Jr., Tim Laduc, Ray Hoard, Don Ackner, Kris Vernold, Gardner Stone, Jimmy Ryan, Adam Pierson, Matt Depew, Corey Gilligan, Brian Whittemore, Scott Duell, Don Mattison, Darren Keyser, Marc Johnson, Chad Miller.

BUDGET SPORTSMAN Carried over from Aug. 23): FRANK HOARD III, Hunter Bates, Justin Comes, Anthony Marro, Frank Hoard Jr., Jared McMahon, Jon Bates, Willy Knight, Ken Towne, Wes Sutliff, Josh Joseph, Anthony Warren, D.J. Brundige, Jeremy Bishop, Jack Swinton, Seth Howe, Ron Casey, Shannon Donnelly.

BUDGET SPORTSMAN (Regular feature): DERRICK MCGREW, Tim Hartman Jr., Jack Swinton, Marc Hughes, Frank Hoard III, D.J. Brundige, C.V. Elms, Chuck Dickinson, Justin Comes, Anthony Marro, Shawn Cassidy, Frank Hoard Jr., Fred Proctor Jr., Jared McMahon, Chris Thorpe, Jon Bates, Willy Knight, Ken Towne, Mike Barber, Ron Casey, Hunter Bates, Joshua Joseph, Anthony Warren, Robert Bublak, Dennis Pennock, Paul Dunham Jr., Jeremy Bishop, Bill Martindale.

PRO-STREET STOCKS (Carried over from Aug. 23): CALE KNEER, Jeff Washburn, Fred Little, Carl Vladyka, Justin Perry, Jesse Edwards.

PRO-STREET STOCKS (Regular feature): CALE KNEER, Fred Little, Jeff Washburn, Bobby Schmidt, William Smith IV, Carl Vladyka, Mike Bussino, Pat McLaughlin, Jay Fitzgerald, Jake Losaw, Jesse Edwards, Justin Perry, Walt Brownell, Mike Migliori.

LIMITEDS (Carried over from Aug. 23): BILL DUPREY, Randy Alger, Mike Clark, Frank Monroe, Bill Vradenburg, Chris Murray, Garret Given, Lou Gancarz, Jon Miller, Russ Farr, Matt Mosher, Dave Emigh, Joe Ladd, Dan Older, Bill Decker, Paul Braymer, Justin Demers.

LIMITEDS (Regular feature): BILL DUPREY, Mike Clark, Garret Given, Paul Braymer, Lou Gancarz, Bill Vradenburg, Randy Alger, Curtis Condon, Chris Murray, Matt Mosher, Donnie Williams, Joe Ladd.

EMPIRE LIGHTNING SPRINTS: DON HARVEY, Ralph Utter Jr., Mike Kiser, Doug Norrie, Justin Phillips, Dennis Lamke, Will Casazza, Dale Friendly Jr., Jon Moore, John Casazza, Jamie Kiser, Matt Norrie, Christian Wright, Shaun Gosselin, Brad LaFontaine, Joe Szczapa, Fred Hoffman, Charley Hagel, Greg Hoffman, Jerry Sehn.