Bryant Penalized in Second Asphalt Late Model Feature

Driver dropped to last place with shock violation

WEST HAVEN, Vt. – Devil’s Bowl Speedway officials on Tuesday have announced a penalty in the Central Vermont Motorcycles Late Model division of the NASCAR Whelen All-American Series.

The No. 3RB car, driven by Robert Bryant Jr., has been placed last in the finish order for the second of two feature races run on Sugar & Spice “Double Stack” Night on Saturday, August 27 on the half-mile Asphalt Track at Devil’s Bowl. Bryant’s car was found in post-race technical inspection to be using a shock absorber with less than the minimum 3-1/2″ travel required by the American-Canadian Tour rulebook, which is utilized by Devil’s Bowl Speedway.

Bryant has been dropped from his original second-place finish and is now the last driver in the finish order; he will collect seventh-place points and purse money.

With the penalty, the revised finishing order sees Josh Masterson moved up to second place, followed by Seth Bridge. Steve Miller was the race winner.

Devil’s Bowl Speedway’s Asphalt Track is back in action on Saturday, September 3 at 7:00 p.m. as The Rutland Herald presents four divisions of racing, a special Labor Day Weekend fireworks show, and driver autographs at intermission. General admission is $15 for adults, $13 for seniors (62+), $5 for teens (13-17), and free for kids 12 and under.

Devil’s Bowl Speedway is located on Route 22A in West Haven, Vt., four miles north of Exit 2 off of U.S. Route 4 and just 20 minutes from Rutland, Vt. For more information, visit or call (802) 265-3112. Devil’s Bowl Speedway is on Facebook at and on Twitter and Instagram at @DevilsBowlSpeed; follow the action using the #DevilsBowl hashtag.

REVISED FINISH – Sugar & Spice “Double Stack” Night
Saturday, August 27, 2016

Central Vermont Motorcycles Late Model Feature #2 (25 laps)
1. (3) Steve Miller, Vergennes, Vt.
2. (5) Josh Masterson, Bristol, Vt.
3. (4) Seth Bridge, Mendon, Vt.
4. (6) Dallas Trombley, Rutland, Vt.
5. (2) Jesse Carris, Rutland, Vt.
6. (1) Mark Norris, Benson, Vt.
7. (7) Robert Bryant Jr., Brooklyn, Conn.
Crazy Horse Racing Winners Circle Challenge: Steve Miller

Comments are closed.