July 2, 2006

Tremont Man to Beat at Devil’s Bowl

WEST HAVEN, VT -  Ken Tremont Jr. started in 15th place on Fair Haven Chrysler Dodge American Pride Night at Devil’s Bowl. Eleven laps later, he was in first place and on his way to his fourth win of the year.

Matt Depew began the 30 lap feature on the pole after finishing no higher than 12th so far this year, and it seems he’s got things working better as he was able to hold a hard charging Frank Hoard back to keep the lead for the first few laps. Hoard has struggled some this year, with only two top 10 finishes, and his luck wouldn’t change tonight as he pitted on lap six and wasn’t able to return. By lap 10, Don Scarborough had made his way from ninth place to second behind Depew, but Ken Tremont wowed the large holiday crowd, taking one or two cars each lap until a caution for a mess involving Gene Munger, Scarborough , Denny Young and Todd Stone restarted the field.

On the restart Tremont rocketed by Depew to take over the top spot. He wasted no time putting distance on the field. A caution on lap 17 took out Keith Flach in his first trip to the Bowl this year, and sent Mike Perrotte to the pits. Perrotte has had two bad nights in a row, he’s a good runner at the Bowl who’s looking for his luck to change.

The restart on lap 18 was the last one of the night and Tremont wasn’t really challenged after that. Veterans Don Ackner and Ron Proctor moved into second and third place and closed the gap as lapped traffic slowed Tremont down a little in the last five laps. Tremont took the checkers followed by Ackner, Proctor, Depew and Tim Laduc got up for fifth.

Ray Hoard, Todd Stone, Jim Ryan, Munger and Brian Whittemore filled out the top 10. At the finish there were only 13 cars on the lead lap.

In pro street stock action a caution-filled crash-fest saw a lot of bent tin. Six cautions flew before they were able to get 10 laps in the books. Race director Bruce Richards went to single file restarts to help the highly competitive field get some good laps in.

In early action Don Eastman and Fred Little rubbed rails up front until Little took the lead on lap eight. Lori Cary came with him and Eastman began dropping back through the field. The crowd was on its feet while Little and Caryfought it out for two or three laps. A lap 12 caution saw Cary take the lead from Little. Little had his hands full with a hard charging Cale Kneer who was hooked up and seemed to have a good line. Kneer and Little stayed with Cary but had to contend with each other while Cary held her line to the finish, and despite one last caution, she held on for the win through the white and checkers, followed by Kneer, Little, and Carl Cram. It seems girl power rules in West Haven as the grandstands emptied to celebrate on the frontstretch with Lori Cary and her hot pink #96.

In the limited division, Joey Trudeau wrestled one away from Adam Piper, holding on to first place by less than a second. Mike Clark seemed to have it all wrapped up until he got loose with two to go, allowing Trudeau, Piper and William Duprey to take the top three slots. Clark held on for fourth, followed by Kevin Elliott.

In the combined mini and duke stock feature Ron Zagata put his 6 cylinder in victory lane after barely holding off Tim Anagnos, who took second place. The first 4 cylinder across the line was the #20 of Brett Osgood who finished fourth overall, and Bruce Taylor Jr. held on for fifth place overall in his duke stock.

Devil’s Bowl returns to action tonight with Back-to-Back racing and fireworks sponsored by Northwoods Carpentry Service. The modifieds race for 100 laps and $2,500 to win and all divisions are in action. The night will begin with kiddie rides and end with an enduro race. A special start time of 8:00 p.m. will pave the way for a gigantic fireworks show.

MODIFIEDS: KEN TREMONT JR., Don Ackner, Ron Proctor, Matt Depew, Tim Laduc, Ray Hoard, Todd Stone, Jim Ryan, Gene Munger, Brian Whittemore, Rick Davis, Brent LaCoste, Don Scarborough, Dustin Delaney, CV Elms, Shawn Cassidy, Gardner Stone, Mike Perrotte, Keith Flach, Vince Quenneville, Mike Bruno, Chris Vernold, Denny Young, Frank Hoard, Sr., Dan Douville.

PRO STREET STOCKS: LORI CARY, Cale Kneer, Fred Little, Carl Cram, Jeff Washburn, Donnie Williams, Carl Vladyka, Dan Eastman, Mike Lussier, Rob Wood, Jim Groncki, Will Hull, Jeremie Younger, Jon Bates, Charles Towslee, Justin Perry, Jeff Martin, Rob Langevin, Walt Brownell Jr.

LIMITEDS: JOEY TRUDEAU, Adam Piper, William Duprey, Mike Clarke, Kevin Elliott, DJ Brundige, Mark Wallett, Randy Alger, John Donnelly, Charles Primeau, Shannon Donnelly, Jared McMahon, Joe Ladd, Jeremy Jones, Jeff Donnelly, Anthony Marro, Bill Vradenburg.

MINI STOCKS: RON ZAGATA 6, Tim Anagnos 6, Mike Duclos 6, BRETT OSGOOD 4, Jim Anagnos 4, Carl Whittemore 6, Jamie Gearwar 6.

DUKE STOCKS: BRUCE TAYLOR JR., Garrett Given, Tim Brooks, Tim Reed, CJ Vitagliano, William Parker, Jeff Smith.