July 25, 2004

Hoard rolls to third win

WEST HAVEN, VT -  Ray Hoard took a giant step towards his first 358 modified point championship ever Sunday night when he rolled to his third victory of the season in the 30-lap feature at Devil’s Bowl Speedway.
Hoard, who began the season with just one career victory at the Bowl, padded his point lead over Don Scarborough, who crossed the finish line fifth.

Hoard put on another impressive performance in his Ford-powered small block, which is equipped with the Brodix spec heads. He started 10th in the field, but took advantage of a number of early cautions to improve his position, and then took the lead for good on lap 20.

Ron Proctor, who has had nothing but trouble this season, came off the outside pole and was the early pacesetter before Jimmy Ryan took control. Ryan had started fifth, but snatched the lead away from Proctor on a restart on lap 11.

Ryan and defending track champion Vince Quenneville Jr., who was having one of his best runs of the season, then kept the fans on their feet with a whale of a battle for the lead, but all the time, Hoard was gaining ground. He moved past Quenneville into second on lap16, and four laps later, had the lead for good.

Veteran Frank Hoard Sr. was the man on the move in the closing laps of the race. Not only did he have his small block humming, but he also took advantage of two late restarts to move from fourth to second in the final five laps. His second-place run was his best finish since recording a win on June 29, 2003.

Quenneville came across the finish line third, his best performance of the season and just the fourth time this year he’s broken into the top five. Gene Munger was fourth, with Scarborough fifth. Completing the top 10 were Tim Laduc, Proctor, Ryan, Todd Stone and Neal Erickson.

Joe Santoro picked up his second win of the season in the 20-lap pro-street stock feature. Santoro completely dominated the event, taking the lead on lap nine and pulling away to a whopping five-second victory over Cale Kneer. Henry Tanner was third, with Robert Langevin fourth and Ed Thompson fifth.

Billy Lussier came away with his first win of the season in the Rentway Limited feature. Pat Cram had the lead until the caution flag fell with one to go, allowing Lussier to get a good jump and come away with the victory. Rich Holmes also took advantage of the restart to grab the No. 2 position, dropping Cram to third. Jamie Buzzell, who has three wins to his credit this season, finished fourth, with Arnie Trudeau fifth.

Elmer Montville Jr., having the best season of his young career, nipped Jamie McCarthy in the Pro-Built Mini-Stock feature, extending his winning streak to four races at the Bowl. McCarthy had the first four-cylinder car across the finish line.

The Duke Stocks were also in action Sunday, with Henry Grandchamp getting the win.

Devil’s Bowl Speedway will be back in action Sunday night, with all divisions in action. The card will feature the 30-lap North-South Brawl for the Rentway Limited division. Racing will begin at 7 p.m.

MODIFIEDS: RAY HOARD, Frank Hoard Sr., Vince Quenneville Jr., Gene Munger, Don Scarborough, Tim Laduc, Ron Proctor, Jim Ryan, Todd Stone, Neal Erickson, Denny Young, Ken Anatriello, Chris Garrity, C.V. Elms, Mike Tholin, Dick Bisson, Chris Verrnold, Mike Perrotte, Mike Pinke, Pete Kimball, Tony Ballestero, William Bokus, Stan Lemiesz, Lance Harting.

AMSOIL PRO-STREET STOCKS: JOE SANTORO, Cale Kneer, Henry Tanner, Robert Langevin, Ed Thompson, Carl Vladyka, Lori Cary, Don Piper, Chris Lussier, Randy Alger, Bob Schmidt, Walt Brownell Jr., Jeremy Pitts, Jeff Martin, Jeff Washburn, Vince Santoro.

RENTWAY LIMITEDS: BILLY LUSSIER, Rich Holmes, Pat Cram, Jamie Buzzell, Arnie Trudeau, Joey Trudeau, Tom Pierce, Mike Scorzelli, Benny Ladd, William Duprey, Mike Ostrander, John Sullivan, John Morris Jr., Brian Ashline, Bill Burlingame, Tracy Ash, Curtis Condon, Keith Guilder, Jared McMahon, Tony Condon, Jessie Ruhle, Scott Fowler, Bob Smith., DQ: Mark Burch.

PRO-BUILT MINI-STOCKS: ELMER MONTVILLE JR., JAMIE MCCARTHY, Chris Cary Jr., John Baldwin, Matt Depew, Ben Durie, Jason Bishop, Brittany Ladd, Charles Burns, Randy Mann, Heather Combs, Bobbi Jo Bean, Joseph Baker, Mike Pope.