June 13, 2010

Bruno holds off Tremont in victory at Devil’s Bowl

WEST HAVEN, VT –  It looks like the Mike Bruno/Ken Tremont Show is in for a summer-long run at Devil’s Bowl Speedway.

Bruno used a front-row starting position to get an early lead, and then held off Tremont to win Sunday night’s 30-lap modified feature on CDL Night at the Vermont track.

Two weeks ago, in the season-opener, Tremont finished fourth, and Bruno crossed the finish line fifth, so it looks like the two veterans will be glued together for the remainder of the 2010 season.

Tremont, who started fifth, was nearly in the wrong place at the wrong time early in the race, as he had to avoid a spin involving polesitter Tim Laduc and Marc Johnson. Both cars went to the rear of the field, putting Tremont second, right behind Bruno.

The field tightened up for a yellow on lap 21, but all Tremont could do was watch Bruno’s rear bumper for the remainder of the feature, as Bruno went on to post his third career win – and first on the new asphalt surface - at the Bowl. Tremont was just 0.442 seconds back in second, with Patrick Dupree third, Don Scarborough fourth and Jimmy Ryan, coming off a Friday night win at Albany-Saratoga, fifth.

Don Miller kept his winning streak intact in the sportsman division, picking up his third straight win in the 25-lap feature. Alex Bell finished second, his best run of the young season, while Hunter Bates was third.

Jon Miller became the third different winner in as many races in the Renegade division, beating Ken St. Germain Jr. and Robert Gorden to the finish line, and Chad Brown remained unbeaten in the Bomber Warrior class, posting his third consecutive victory.

The first Kids Night will be held on Sunday, June 20, with kiddie rides and a driver autograph session. In addition to the regular CVRA divisions, a 20-lap Pro-Stock/Super Street Challenge, paying $250 to win, will be on the card. In testing Sunday night, the two full-fendered divisions posted near identical lap times. Kiddie rides will begin at 5 p.m., and racing will start at 6.

MODIFIEDS: MIKE BRUNO, Ken Tremont Jr., Patrick Dupree, Don Scarborough, Jimmy Ryan, Mike Perrotte, Derrick McGrew, Vince Quenneville Jr., Tim Laduc, Jeremy Markle, Todd Ormsby, Jason Bruno, Mark Johnson, Frank Hoard III, Jim Introne.

SPORTSMAN: DON MILLER, Alex Bell, Hunter Bates, Fred Proctor, Chris Johnson, Kevin Wright, Jared McMahon, Cullen Howe, Paul Braymer, Matt Atwood, Kevin Elliot. DNS: Joey Trudeau, Darren Williams.

RENEGADES: JON MILLER, Ken St. Germaine Jr., Robert Gordon, Chris Murray, Brian Rogers, Randy Alger, Frank Monroe, Jonathan Hayes. DNS: Bill Duprey.

BOMBER WARRIORS: CHAD BROWN, Nathan Woodworth, Brent Warren, Eddie Bruno, Justin Lilly, Matt Monaghan, Jeremy Hayes, Kalob Gagnon, David Tomczak, Michael DeVino Sr.