June 21, 2009

Chuck Elms first time winner at Devil’s Bowl

WEST HAVEN, VT –  It was only fitting that the man who operates “The Ridge” would win the Ridge Runners Series race at Devil’s Bowl Speedway.

C.V. Elms, promoter of Bear Ridge Speedway in New Hampshire, pulled off one of the biggest upsets ever Sunday night, taking the checkered flag in the 50-lap Ridge Runner Series feature at Devil’s Bowl.

The series brings together budget sportsman drivers from the Champlain Valley Racing Association, Bear Ridge and Glen Ridge Motorsports Park, and drew some heavy hitters, but Elms, a jack of all trades who is also a farmer in addition to running every aspect of Bear Ridge, proved he still knows a thing or two about racing.

Willy Knight and Jack Gentile started on the front row and controlled the early pace. Knight went out on the point, but Gentile, who is enjoying a great early season on the CVRA, never let him get far away.

Knight and Gentile were still leading the pack at the halfway point, while Elms, who had started ninth, was sitting just outside the top five and biding his time.

Cullen Howe, who had started 12th, was the car to watch. He moved past Gentile for second on lap 29 and began putting pressure on Knight, but Howe brought out the caution on lap 35 and suddenly, Elms was sitting in second place.

Showing he still knows the quickest line around Devil’s Bowl and isn’t going to let a golden opportunity slip away, Elms finally got the lead with four to go, and came away with his first career victory at the Bowl.

Elms’ best finish at the Bowl, prior to Sunday, was a second, behind Cullen Howe, on June 15 last year. Knight crossed the finish line second, followed by Jared McMahon, Gentile and Wayne Stearns.

Cale Kneer rocketed past Carl Vladyka on the last lap to record his first win of the season in the 20-lap pro-street stock feature.

Bill Duprey picked up his second win of the campaign in the limited feature, Kayla Bryant won the mini-stock main and Chris Murray was victorious in the Duke stock feature.

All divisions, headlined by the mighty 358 modifieds, will be in action on Sunday, June 28, which will feature a gigantic fireworks display. Racing will begin at 6:45 p.m.

Fans should start planning their 4th of July holiday, as Devil’s Bowl will be in action on both Saturday, July 4, and Sunday, July 5. A complete list of events for the weekend is available on the CVRA web site at www.cvra.com.

BUDGET SPORTSMAN (RIDGE RUNNER SERIES, 50 LAPS): C.V. ELMS, Willy Knight, Jared McMahon, Jack Gentile, Willy Stearns, Frank Hoard Jr., Hunter Bates, Seth Howe, Frank Hoard III, Chris Thorpe, Ron Casey, Jon Bates, Bodie Bellinger, Angela Hanson, D.J. Brundige, Josh Joseph, Cody Sargent, Joey Trudeau, Ken Towne, Cullen Howe, Anthony Warren, Andy Durie, Jason Vadnais, Derrick McGrew, Ron Wanamaker, Justin Comes, Jamie Introne.

PRO-STREET STOCKS: CALE KNEER, Carl Vladyka, Jeff Washburn, Fred Little, Lori Langevin, Chuck Towslee, Justin Perry, Mike Paquin, Walt Brownell, Joe Matzac.

LIMITEDS: BILL DUPREY, Mike Clark, Lou Gancarz, Rob Ketchum, Joe Ladd, Garret Given, Mitch Sequin, Brian O’Reilly, Bill Vradenburg, Erwin Smith Jr., Frank Monroe, Ben Ladd, Paul Braymer, Dennis Sullinger, Curtis Condon.