June 27, 2010

Tremont repeats at Devil’s Bowl

WEST HAVEN, VT –  Ken Tremont Jr. kept up his torrid pace at Devil’s Bowl Speedway Sunday night, recording his second consecutive win in the 30-lap modified feature.

In four weeks of racing at the Bowl, Tremont, the defending track champion, has yet to finish out of the top five, getting a fourth, a second and now, two straight wins.

Although a misty rain threatened to end the night prematurely, the fans were treated to some outstanding racing in all divisions.

Jimmy Ryan started on the pole in the modified feature, but Marc Johnson was quickly on the move, using the outside groove. Johnson used a slick move to get around Ryan for the lead and by lap eight, looked like he was going to run away to his first win of the season.

After opening up a good sized lead, the right rear tire on Johnson’s modified exploded on the backstretch on lap 11, but the green stayed out. Then the 54 of Tim LaDuc stalled on the backstretch and the yellow flew. Tremont, who had already worked his way up to third, had jumped out into the lead during the lap, but Ryan was placed back in first because the field was lined up according to the last completed lap. He didn’t stay there long however, as Tremont got by him on the next circuit.

Ryan, Tremont, Mike Bruno and Don Scarborough treated the fans to some great side-by-side racing before an incident on the front stretch a few laps later. Something broke in the front of Jason’s Bruno’s modified, and he came to a stop by the flagstand. Tremont then proved to be best on the restart and beat Ryan to the finish line. Scarborough got around Bruno for third, and Vince Quenneville Jr. completed the top five.

Alex Bell used a last-lap pass to earn his first victory of the season in the sportsman feature. Jared McMahon, also looking for his first win, jumped out to a huge lead and for a while, looked like he was going to win easily. But when McMahon got into lapped traffic, Bell was able to close the gap. McMahon, running the low line, did his best to keep the lead, but Bell went high coming out of the second turn with two to go to pull even, and then darted by McMahon on the final lap to come away with the win.

McMahon, Kevin Wright, Chris Johnson and Hunter Bates completed the top five.

Jon Miller extended his winning streak to three races in the Renegade division, but it didn’t come easy, as a number of invaders from Airborne Speedway made the trip to the Bowl.

Bill Duprey and Randy Alger locked into a heck of a battle for the first six laps, until Duprey finally shook loose. But Miller had worked his way to the front and put a ton of pressure on Duprey, until finally rocketing into the lead going down the backstretch.

Miller was first under the checkered flag, with Duprey second and Larry Underwood third.

Bobby Lavair also took a trip to victory lane, posting his first win of the year in the Bomber Warriors division.

Devil’s Bowl will be putting on a spectacular fireworks display to highlight its 4th of July show. The sportsman will be running a 50-lap feature, and there will also be a 50-lap Pro-Stock/Super Street Challenge, paying $500 to win. Home track rules will apply for that race. Check the CVRA web site at www.cvra.com for complete details of the holiday show.

MODIFIEDS; KEN TREMONT JR., Jimmy Ryan, Don Scarborough, Mike Bruno, Vince Quenneville Jr., Mike Perrotte, Don Mattison, Tim Laduc, Marc Johnson, Derrick McGrew, Jason Bruno.

SPORTSMAN: ALEX BELL, Jared McMahon, Kevin Wright, Chris Johnson, Hunter Bates, Don Miller, Jack Swinton, John Heidrich, Jimmy Introne Jr., Carl Vladyka, Tom Lilly, Darren Williams, Paul Braymer.

RENEGADES: JON MILLER, Bill Duprey, Larry Underwood, Joe Warren, Keith Pelkey, Frank Monroe, Randy Alger, Brian Rogers, Chris Murray, Ken St. Germaine Jr., Joe Ladd, Jonathan Hayes.