May 24, 2009

Tim LaDuc starts 2009 in victory lane

WEST HAVEN, VT –  Tim Laduc began the 2009 racing season at Devil’s Bowl Speedway in the same exact spot he ended 2008 – in victory lane.

Laduc came out of the second row and held off Ken Tremont Jr. Sunday night to win the modified portion of the CJ Twin 50s that kicked off the 43rd season of racing at “Vermont’s Fastest Half-Mile.”

Laduc took the lead away from polesitter Frank Hoard Sr. on lap seven and set the pace for the rest of the 50-lap feature, but he never really had a chance to get comfortable, not with defending track championTodd Stone and Tremont nipping at his heels during the closing laps..

But when the checkered flag fell, Laduc had his 12th career win at the Bowl, finishing 0.561 seconds ahead of Tremont. Stone hit the finish line third, followed by Vince Quenneville Jr. and Don Ackner.

Laduc, who won the Devil’s Bowl track championship in 2000, has now won at least one feature for eight consecutive years, beginning in 2002. His last opening-night victory came in 2004.

The other half of the CJ Twins belonged to the budget sportsman, where Cullen Howe outran Ryan Avery and Jack Gentile to get the victory.

Paul Dunham Jr. and Dan Peckham took turns on the point in the first half of the feature, but Howe, who had started third and was never more than a couple of car-lengths behind the leaders, finally moved in front on lap 35.

Avery, who had started 18th and slowly worked his way to the front, took over second with 10 laps remaining, but had to be content with chasing Howe across the finish line. Gentile, who has been on a roll at Albany-Saratoga Speedway, got up for third, with D.J. Bundige furth and Scott Duell fifth.

Defending track champion Carl Vladyka went wire-to-wire to win the 20-lap pro-street stock feature, holding off his old rival Fred Little by 0.248 seconds. They were followed by Ed Thompson, Chuck Towslee and Cal Kneer.

Mike Clark was in the right place at the right time and picked up the victory in the 20-lap limited feature. Don Williams appeared to be in control of the feature until the caution flag flew with two laps to go. Williams was first under the white flag following the restart, but then got crossed up, giving the lead to Clark, who beat Jeremy Jones and Joe Ladd to the finish line, while Williams recovered to finish sixth.

Kayla Bryant (six-cylinder) and Brent Warren (four-cylinder) were the winners in the mini-stock division, while Andrew Smith got the win in the Duke stock class.

Devil’s Bowl will return to action on Sunday, May 31, with the Spring Championships. All divisions will be in action, with double points on the line. Racing will begin at 6:45 p.m.

MODIFIEDS; TIM LADUC, Ken Tremont Jr., Todd Stone, Vince Quenneville Jr., Don Ackner, Rob Langevin, Ray Hoard, Jimmy Ryan, Tony Kawalchuk, Ron Proctor, Elmo Reckner, Frank Hoard Sr., Gardner Stone, Alex Bell, Corey Gilligan, Brian Whittemore, Kris Vernold, Don Mattison, Darren Keyer.

BUDGET SPORTSMAN: CULLEN HOWE, Ryan Avery, Jack Gentile, D.J. Brundige, Scott Duell, Marc Hughes, Frank Hoard Jr., Chuck Dickinson, Tim Hartman Jr., Anthony Marro, Jack Swinton, Paul Dunham Jr., Dennis Pennock, Seth Howe, Gary Siemons, Chris Rheome, Fred Proctor Jr., Dave Lacasse, Dan Peckham, Ron Wanamaker, Hunter Bates, Todd Petschke, Chris Thorpe, Wayne Stearns, C.V. Elms, Jon Bates, Frank Hoard III, Pete Carlotto.

PRO-STREET STOCKS: CARL VLAYDKA, Fred Little, Ed Thompson, Chuck Towslee, Cale Kneer, Lori Langevin, Pat McLaughlin, Justin Perry, Jeff Washburn, Joe Matzac, Mike Bussino, Wayne Pelkey.

LIMITEDS: MIKE CLARK, Jeremy Jones, Joe Ladd, Erwin Smith Jr., Don Williams, Frank Monroe, Mitch Sequin, Jeff Wilbur, Lou Gancarz, Rob Ketcham, Bill Duprey, Ben Ladd, Russell Farr, Paul Braymer, Bill Burlingame, Dennis Sullinger.