September 2, 2007

Tremont on familiar ground in victory lane

WEST HAVEN, VT -  If Ken Tremont Jr. has a to-do list hanging in his garage, he can scratch off “win a 100-lapper at Devil’s Bowl.”

Tremont virtually locked up his third straight 358-modified point title at Devil’s Bowl Sunday night, dominating the 100, presented by G. Bowen Excavating.

Tremont stayed out of trouble early in the race, methodically worked his way to the front, took the lead on lap 75 and then left the rest of the field in his dust, coming away with his eighth win of the season with over two seconds to spare over the second-place car of Todd Stone.

Although Tremont has won half of the features run at the Bowl this season, he hadn’t been to victory lane in a 100-lapper until Sunday night. Don Scarborough won the season-opening C.J. 101, which was shortened to 80 laps by rain, and Ronnie Johnson hauled in on July 3 and walked off with the top prize in the Let Freedom Ring 100.

Jimmy Ryan, Ray Hoard and Tim Laduc, who all started near the front of the pack in the 100-lapper, kept the crowd entertained with some great racing early, but Stone, who had started 10th, soon made his way into the mix and snatched the lead away from Laduc on lap 37.

Tremont, who had started 11th, was only up to sixth by that time, but he was also showing patience. When a caution came out on lap 65 and bunched the field, Tremont went to work, easily picking off the cars in front of him one by one.

He worked his way around Laduc for second on lap 70 and only needed five more laps to reel in Stone. From there, he was on cruise control.

When Tremont took the checkered flag, Stone was 2.341 seconds behind, and Laduc was a straightaway back in third. Matt DeLorenzo, making a rare appearance at the Bowl, got up for fourth, and Hoard hung on for fifth.

Carl Vladyka posted his second win of the season in the 20-lap pro-street stock feature, beating Fred Little to the finish line with about a bumper to spare.

Vladyka, who had started seventh, used a restart on lap six to get the lead, and fended off some pressure by Lori Cary. Little got around Cary for second on lap 13 and gave Vladyka everything he could handle, but Vladyka kept his nose in front and got the win, with Cary a close third in a blanket finish.

Jared McMahon got to the front quickly and recorded his first win of the year in the 30-lap budget sportsman feature. After taking the lead from Kale Groff on lap11, McMahon controlled the tempo of the race. His only real problem came when the yellow flag flew with four laps left, putting Groff on his rear bumper, but McMahon never bobbled and got the victory. Groff was second, with Angela Hoard third.

D.J. Brundige held off Nick Lussier to get his third win of the season in the 20-lap limited feature. Brundige took the lead away from Lussier with three laps to go and hit the finish line with a 0.056-second margin of victory, forcing Lussier to settle for second. Kevin Elliot crossed the stripe third.

Phil DeFiglio, who has dominated the mini-stock division at Albany-Saratoga speedway, pulled into the Bowl and snapped Tim Anagnos’ four-race winning streak in the six-cylinder class. Howard McEachron got the win in the four-cylinder division.

Fred Monroe won the 98.9 lap Big Country enduro and took home the top prize of $980.09.

Track champions will be crowned in all divisions when Devil’s Bowl holds its final night of racing for the 2007 campaign on Sunday, Sept. 9, which will be Hometown Heroes Night. Competition will begin at 6 p.m.

CVRA.COM 100: KEN TREMONT JR., Todd Stone, Tim Laduc, Matt DeLorenzo, Ray Hoard, Gene Munger, Vince Quenneville Jr., Don Scarborough, Jim Ryan, Frank Hoard Sr., Kris Vernold, Richard Davis III, Ron Proctor, Stan Lemiesz, Matt Depew, Elmo Reckner, Matt Quinn, Brian Whittemore, Don Ackner, Rob Langevin, Don Mattison, Don Ronca.

PRO-STREET STOCKS: CARL VLADYKA, Fred Little, Lori Cary, Dan Eastman, Cale Kneer, Mike Bussino, Ed Thompson, Patrick McLaughlin, Chuck Towslee, Justin Perry, Jeff Martin, Walt Brownell, Joe Malzac, Jeff Washburn, Bill Hull, Chris Fitzgerald.

BUDGET SPORTSMAN: JARED MCMAHON, Kale Groff, Angela Hoard, Bryan Davis, Paul Dunham Sr., Fred Proctor, Mike Visconti, Jeremy Huntoon, Ralph Denison, Dave Lagasse, Jon Bates, Tim Reed, Kris Bradbury, Ron Casey, Frank Hoard Jr., Alex Bell, Billy Lussier, Ken Towne, Gary Siemons, Jimmy Duncan, Matt Hyde, Bill Cody, Steve Williams, Rick LaMont, Shawn Pangburn.

LIMITEDS: D.J. BRUNDIGE, Nick Lussier, Kevin Elliot, Adam Forbes, Shannon Donnelly, Justin Parker, Bill Vradenburg, Bill Decker, Tim Brunelle, Amanda Clemens, Jeremy Jones, C.J. Vitagliano, Bill Duprey, Joe Ladd Jr., Francis Clark, Rob Ketchum, Dennis Sullinger, Andy Husk.

MINI/DUKE STOCKS: PHIL DEFIGLIO, Tim Anagnos, Ron Zagata, Howard McEachron, Cliff White, Chris Mattison, Chris Hutchinson, Jason Rheome, Shane Marks, Naomi Gould, Chris Atwood, Car No. 25, Bill Parker, Andy Smith, Russ Farr, Jeremy Hayes, Justin Parker.